Disclosures
- How we make money: Some links may earn us a referral fee at no cost to you. Fees never affect scores, rankings, or what we cover, and we accept no paid placement.
- How this was researched: Everything on this page comes from public vendor documentation, regulators, and third-party sources, each linked below with the date we checked it. We did not test these products hands-on.
- Not advice: General business software information, not medical, legal, billing, or compliance advice. Confirm current prices, state rules, and BAA terms directly with the vendor before you buy.
Quick answer
Valant scores 60/100 on our comparison, in a five-way tie with SimplePractice, TherapyNotes, Practice Fusion, and DrChrono [1]. It scores 5 of 5 on prescribing workflow, but 1 on cost because no base price is published [2]. Valant says EPCS for Schedule II is standard and PDMP access in 43 states is included [3]. It publishes add-on prices in a pricing list PDF [4].
Read scores as documentation scores. A low score often means a vendor does not publish the information, not that the feature is poor. Scores come from the Practice Stack rubric: six criteria worth 90 points, rescaled to 100.
What the documentation shows
| Item | From public documentation |
|---|---|
| Plans | Custom quote; no public base price [2]. Third-party estimate $100 to $300 per provider/mo [5] Not publicly disclosed |
| E-prescribing and EPCS | Vendor says EPCS for Schedule II is standard, not an add-on [3] Vendor-reported |
| PDMP | Vendor says PDMP access in 43 states is included; state list not published [3] Vendor-reported |
| Telehealth | $35/mo per provider practice-wide (all providers enrolled) or $39/mo per provider for chosen seats [4] Documentation reviewed |
| Billing | Integrated clearinghouse (Inovalon, Waystar; pricing on request); Claim Assist $70 per 200-claim bundle [4] Documentation reviewed |
| Card payments | Not found in public docs Not publicly disclosed |
| Texting | Reminders and broadcast messages $0.09 each; first appointment reminder free on Premium and Power seats [4]. Two-way texting not documented Documentation reviewed |
| eFax | Integrated outbound fax $0.06 per page; non-integrated inbound and outbound $0.06 per page plus $6.00 per line per month [4] Documentation reviewed |
| API | Billed by call volume, $25 to $750/mo tiers, then $0.03 per call above 25,000 [4] Documentation reviewed |
| Export out | Bulk export terms not published Not publicly disclosed |
| Security | Signs a BAA with every customer as part of its MSA [6]; HITRUST i1 certification announced May 2026 [7]; MFA not found in public docs Vendor-reported |
Rubric sub-scores
Same scores as the comparison page [1].
| EHR | Total cost of ownership (25) | Prescribing workflow (25) | Billing and claims (15) | Interoperability (10) | Data portability (10) | Telehealth (5) | Points | Score |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Valant | 1 | 5 | 4 | 4 | 1 | 2 | 54/90 | 60 |
Who the documentation fits
The documentation fits a medication-management practice that values EPCS and PDMP as standard features and can get a quote; the all-in cost cannot be computed from public prices [2].
Gaps to ask about: No public base price [2]; EPCS and PDMP claims come from a Valant-written article [3]; export terms and MFA not published.
Where it sits
On the comparison page, TheraNest (Ensora Health) leads at 74, CharmHealth and OptiMantra tie at 73, PracticeQ (IntakeQ) has 72, Osmind 68, AdvancedMD and ICANotes 66 each, Valant, SimplePractice, TherapyNotes, Practice Fusion, and DrChrono 60 each, and Tebra 57 [1].
How we researched this page
Facts come from vendor pricing pages, help centers, and published price lists, plus third-party sources where vendors publish nothing. We did not test this product hands-on. Prices are list prices on the check date and can change.
Sources
- ClinicalAIWeekly: Psychiatric EHR comparison (scores and rubric sub-scores). Checked 2026-10-23.
- Valant: Plans and pricing. Checked 2026-10-21.
- Valant blog: EHR for psychiatric prescribers (vendor-written). Checked 2026-10-21.
- Valant: Pricing list for additional services, effective Dec 16, 2024 (PDF). Checked 2026-10-23.
- ITQlick: Valant pricing estimate (third party). Checked 2026-10-21.
- Valant: AI info. Checked 2026-10-21.
- Valant: Valant earns HITRUST i1 certification. Checked 2026-10-21.