Disclosures
- How we make money: Some links may earn us a referral fee at no cost to you. Fees never affect scores, rankings, or what we cover, and we accept no paid placement.
- How this was researched: Everything on this page comes from public vendor documentation, regulators, and third-party sources, each linked below with the date we checked it. We did not test these products hands-on.
- Not advice: General business software information, not medical, legal, billing, or compliance advice. Confirm current prices, state rules, and BAA terms directly with the vendor before you buy.
Quick answer
On our Practice Stack rubric, scored from public documentation only, the top two are OptiMantra (73) and Osmind (68), followed by AdvancedMD (63), then a four-way tie at 60 between Valant, SimplePractice, TherapyNotes, and Practice Fusion. The leaders document EPCS and PDMP as part of the platform with published prices or inclusion. Lower-priced therapy-first EHRs win on published cost but add per-prescriber e-prescribing fees.
Read scores as documentation scores. A low score often means a vendor does not publish the information, not that the feature is poor. Security and compliance documentation was not assessed in this draft, so scores are normalized over the remaining 90 rubric points.
What a psychiatric EHR has to do
Prescribers need electronic prescribing of controlled substances (EPCS), which under DEA rules requires identity proofing and two-factor authentication. See our EPCS cost guide. Many states also require a PDMP check before certain controlled substance prescriptions; in California, prescribers must consult CURES before the first Schedule II to IV prescription and at least every six months after that while the substance remains part of treatment [27].
Comparison table
| EHR and score | Published price | EPCS | PDMP | Telehealth | Billing | Data export and migration |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| OptiMantra 73/100 | $99/mo first practitioner, $49/mo each additional; no long-term contract, 30-day notice Vendor-reported[18] | eRx license with EPCS add-on, $38/mo; through MDToolbox (Surescripts), signing with a VIP Access app code Vendor-reported[18][19] | State PDMP link shown by default; integrated PDMP in certain states via Bamboo Health, no OptiMantra or MDToolbox charge but possible Bamboo fees; California coverage not confirmed Documentation reviewed[20] | HIPAA-compliant video listed in base plan Vendor-reported[18] | Integrated insurance billing add-on at $0.25/claim; superbills included Vendor-reported[18] | Charts, superbills, documents exported as PDFs; lists as Excel or CSV; four weeks notice; first export free, later exports $500; no other formats Documentation reviewed[21] |
| Osmind 68/100 | Osmind One: $249/mo per clinician, software only; Care Network and 360 plans priced as a percentage of collections Vendor-reported[1] | EPCS via DrFirst, $49/mo per clinician on Osmind One, plus a one-time per-provider setup fee (amount not published) Vendor-reported[1] | Integrated; one-time setup fee per practice per state (amount not published) Vendor-reported[1] | Listed in plan comparison; separate price not published Vendor-reported[1] | Claims via ClaimMD and Office Ally integration; billing services on percentage plans; Stripe card processing 2.9% + $0.30 Vendor-reported[1] | Vendor states you retain ownership and "your data comes with you"; export format not published Vendor-reported[1] |
| AdvancedMD 63/100 | Mental health: $130 to $399 per provider/mo; setup free to $1,000 for smaller practices Vendor-reported[6] | ePrescribing included; EPCS "typically" $35/mo Vendor-reported[6] | Vendor says the $35 EPCS fee includes PDMP registry integration Vendor-reported[6] | Listed as a core included feature Vendor-reported[6] | Claims, ERA, eligibility in core plans; RCM service 4% to 8% of collections Vendor-reported[6] | Inbound migration $800 to $2,000 by tier (PM data); clinical migration custom quote; export out not published Vendor-reported[6] |
| Valant 60/100 | Custom quote; no public base price Not publicly disclosed[2]. Third-party estimate $100 to $300 per provider/mo Third-party sourced[3] | Vendor says EPCS for Schedule II is standard, not an add-on Vendor-reported[4] | Vendor says PDMP access in 43 states is included Vendor-reported[4] | $35/mo per provider practice-wide, or $39/mo per provider for chosen seats Documentation reviewed[5] | Integrated clearinghouse (Inovalon, Waystar; pricing on request); Claim Assist $70 per 200-claim bundle Documentation reviewed[5] | API access billed by call volume, $25 to $750/mo tiers; bulk export terms not published Documentation reviewed[5] |
| SimplePractice 60/100 | Starter $49/mo, Essential $79/mo, Plus $99/mo (solo, standard pricing) Vendor-reported[11] | ePrescribe add-on $49/mo plus $89 one-time setup Vendor-reported[11] | Via DrFirst: $699 one-time per practice plus $6.25/mo per clinician (waived in subsidized states); not available in Guam, Kentucky, or New York Documentation reviewed[12] | Group telehealth listed on group plans; solo telehealth terms not confirmed in our sources Not publicly disclosed[11] | Insurance Navigator listed as coming soon at $1.79/claim Vendor-reported[11] | Not covered in the sources we checked Not publicly disclosed |
| TherapyNotes 60/100 | Solo $69/mo; Group $89/mo first clinician plus $60 each additional (rates effective Dec 1, 2026) Documentation reviewed[13] | ePrescribe $65/mo per prescriber; EPCS is an optional feature of ePrescribe; ID proofing has no fee Documentation reviewed[13][14] | Not covered in the sources we checked Not publicly disclosed | Basic telehealth free; Premium $15/mo per clinician Documentation reviewed[13] | $0.14 per electronic claim, ERA, and eligibility check Third-party sourced[15] | Free client data import from another EMR; export out not covered in our sources Documentation reviewed[13] |
| Practice Fusion 60/100 | From $199/mo per provider, annual commitment required; includes 3 signing staff Vendor-reported[22] | Included in the provider license; all 50 states and DC; identity verification through a credential partner and a smartphone signing app; no separate fee shown Vendor-reported[22][23] | Integrated in six states only: Arizona, Idaho, Illinois, North Carolina, Texas, Ohio (not California) Vendor-reported[24] | Not covered in the sources we checked Not publicly disclosed | Claims submission in the provider license; separate full-service billing offered, price not published Vendor-reported[22] | FHIR API with bulk export for all patients or groups Documentation reviewed[25] |
| CharmHealth 54/100 | Free edition, Encounter plan, or Provider plan at $200 per provider/mo Vendor-reported[7][8] | EPCS $250 per provider per year (includes eRx, identity proofing and hard token); eRx alone $15/mo Vendor-reported[7][8] | Appriss PMP Gateway; $100 one-time per provider, plus possible Appriss fees in states that do not fund integration Vendor-reported[9] | Not covered in the sources we checked Not publicly disclosed | Not covered in the sources we checked Not publicly disclosed | Surescripts Record Locator and Exchange for record sharing; bulk export terms not checked Vendor-reported[10] |
| Tebra (formerly Kareo) 52/100 | Quote only; varies by providers, features, and claim volume Not publicly disclosed[16] | EPCS setup about $75 one-time per provider (identity proofing and MFA) per Tebra's FAQ Vendor-reported[16] | $500 one-time per facility plus about $50 per user per year (Appriss pass-through) Vendor-reported[16] | Included in the Practice Essentials bundle Vendor-reported[16] | Billing included in Practice Essentials Vendor-reported[16] | Not covered in the sources we checked Not publicly disclosed |
| ICANotes 50/100 | Prescribing plan $213/mo unlimited notes or $138/mo for 100 notes; $99 activation; 3-month commitment Vendor-reported[17] | e-Prescribing included in Prescribing plan; EPCS specifics not confirmed in our sources Vendor-reported[17] | Not covered in the sources we checked Not publicly disclosed | $20/mo per user Vendor-reported[17] | Billing tools included; statements priced by sales Vendor-reported[17] | Not covered in the sources we checked Not publicly disclosed |
| DrChrono 41/100 | Foundation, Growth, Premium tiers; prices not shown on the pricing page Not publicly disclosed[26] | Not covered in the sources we checked Not publicly disclosed | Not covered in the sources we checked Not publicly disclosed | Listed as included in plan feature table Vendor-reported[26] | Claim management, ERA auto posting, eligibility (per check or per claim on Foundation); $1.00 per paper claim Vendor-reported[26] | Data migration in all tiers, free or fee depending on format Vendor-reported[26] |
Estimated monthly cost for one prescriber
Our arithmetic from published list prices: base plan plus e-prescribing, EPCS, and PDMP where those prices are public. Excludes taxes, claims fees, card processing, promotions, and one-time fees except where noted.
| EHR | Monthly estimate | How we got it |
|---|---|---|
| OptiMantra | $137 | $99 base + $38 eRx with EPCS; PDMP integration no vendor fee, possible Bamboo Health fees |
| Osmind | $298 | $249 EHR + $49 EPCS; plus unpublished setup fees |
| AdvancedMD | $165 and up | $130 low end + $35 EPCS with PDMP |
| Valant | Not publicly disclosed | EPCS and PDMP said to be included |
| SimplePractice | About $104 | $49 Starter + $49 ePrescribe + $6.25 PDMP; plus $89 and $699 one-time |
| TherapyNotes | $134 | $69 Solo + $65 ePrescribe; PDMP not documented |
| Practice Fusion | $199 | Base license includes EPCS; annual commitment |
| CharmHealth | About $221 | $200 Provider plan + $250/yr EPCS; plus $100 one-time PDMP |
| Tebra (formerly Kareo) | Not publicly disclosed | Plus about $75 EPCS setup, $500 PDMP setup, about $50/yr PDMP |
| ICANotes | $213 | Prescribing plan; plus $99 activation |
| DrChrono | Not publicly disclosed |
Rubric scores
Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 from documentation and weighted per the rubric. "n/a" means not assessed in this draft.
| EHR | Total cost of ownership (25) | Prescribing workflow (eRx, EPCS, PDMP) (25) | Billing and claims (15) | Interoperability (labs, APIs, exchange) (10) | Data portability and export (10) | Security and compliance documentation (10) | Telehealth (5) | Score |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| OptiMantra | 4 | 4 | 4 | 2 | 3 | n/a | 4 | 73 |
| Osmind | 2 | 5 | 4 | 3 | 3 | n/a | 2 | 68 |
| AdvancedMD | 3 | 4 | 4 | 1 | 2 | n/a | 4 | 63 |
| Valant | 1 | 5 | 4 | 4 | 1 | n/a | 2 | 60 |
| SimplePractice | 4 | 4 | 3 | 1 | 1 | n/a | 1 | 60 |
| TherapyNotes | 4 | 3 | 3 | 1 | 2 | n/a | 4 | 60 |
| Practice Fusion | 3 | 3 | 3 | 4 | 3 | n/a | 1 | 60 |
| CharmHealth | 3 | 4 | 1 | 4 | 1 | n/a | 1 | 54 |
| Tebra (formerly Kareo) | 1 | 4 | 4 | 2 | 1 | n/a | 4 | 52 |
| ICANotes | 3 | 2 | 3 | 3 | 1 | n/a | 3 | 50 |
| DrChrono | 1 | 1 | 4 | 4 | 2 | n/a | 3 | 41 |
Vendor notes
- Osmind: Psychiatry-tailored, with workflows for TMS, Spravato, and ketamine and automated Spravato REMS submissions at $4 each on Osmind One [1]. Highest documented software price in this group.
- Valant: Behavioral-health only; publishes add-on prices in a pricing list PDF but not base license prices [5][2]. Its EPCS and PDMP claims come from a Valant-written comparison article.
- AdvancedMD: Publishes a mental health price range and states EPCS is typically $35/mo with PDMP included [6]. Setup can take about 90 days per the vendor.
- CharmHealth: The most itemized e-prescribing price list in this group, including multi-year EPCS terms [7].
- SimplePractice: Lowest base price, but PDMP has a $699 nonrefundable setup fee and is forfeited if you cancel [28].
- TherapyNotes: Moving its ePrescribe vendor to DrFirst [29].
- Tebra: Quote-based pricing, but its pricing FAQ itemizes EPCS and PDMP setup costs [16].
- ICANotes: Prescribing plan is priced separately from non-prescribing plans [17].
- OptiMantra: Low published base price with EPCS as a priced add-on and an unusually detailed export policy [18][21]. Its marketing emphasizes integrative and functional medicine features such as compounding and IV workflows [18].
- Practice Fusion: EPCS is bundled into the license, but integrated PDMP covers only six states [24].
- DrChrono: Detailed feature and overage table without base prices [26].
How we researched this page
Facts come from vendor pricing pages, help centers, and published price lists, plus third-party sources where vendors publish nothing. We did not test these products hands-on and had no vendor calls or demo accounts. Prices are list prices on the check date and can change.
Sources
- Osmind: Plans and pricing, including FAQ. Checked 2026-10-21.
- Valant: Plans and pricing. Checked 2026-10-21.
- ITQlick: Valant pricing estimate (third party). Checked 2026-10-21.
- Valant blog: EHR for psychiatric prescribers (vendor-written). Checked 2026-10-21.
- Valant: Pricing list for additional services, effective Dec 16, 2024 (PDF). Checked 2026-10-21.
- AdvancedMD: Software pricing and FAQ. Checked 2026-10-21.
- CharmHealth: EHR pricing and add-ons. Checked 2026-10-21.
- CharmHealth: Pricing FAQ. Checked 2026-10-21.
- CharmHealth: PDMP gateway interface. Checked 2026-10-21.
- CharmHealth: eRx and EPCS. Checked 2026-10-21.
- SimplePractice: EHR pricing and plans. Checked 2026-10-21.
- SimplePractice Support: Adding PDMP to your account. Checked 2026-10-21.
- TherapyNotes Support: Pricing and subscription options. Checked 2026-10-21.
- TherapyNotes Support: Enabling EPCS. Checked 2026-10-21.
- AI-Optimized Practice: TherapyNotes pricing summary (third party). Checked 2026-10-21.
- Tebra: Pricing and FAQ. Checked 2026-10-21.
- ICANotes: Pricing. Checked 2026-10-21.
- OptiMantra: Pricing. Checked 2026-10-21.
- OptiMantra Help: Use e-prescribing (eRx). Checked 2026-10-21.
- OptiMantra Help: e-prescribing (eRx) FAQs. Checked 2026-10-21.
- OptiMantra Help: Export data out of OptiMantra. Checked 2026-10-21.
- Practice Fusion: Pricing. Checked 2026-10-21.
- Practice Fusion: Get started with EPCS. Checked 2026-10-21.
- Practice Fusion: EPCS and PDMP. Checked 2026-10-21.
- Practice Fusion: FHIR API specifications. Checked 2026-10-21.
- DrChrono: Pricing. Checked 2026-10-21.
- California Health and Safety Code 11165.4. Checked 2026-10-21.
- SimplePractice Support: Canceling ePrescribe. Checked 2026-10-21.
- TherapyNotes Support: Getting started with ePrescribe. Checked 2026-10-21.
What changed
- 2026-10-21: Added OptiMantra and Practice Fusion, researched from public documentation and scored on rubric v0.1.
- 2026-10-21: First draft. Nine vendors, scored on the Practice Stack rubric v0.1 from public documentation. Security criterion not yet assessed.