Three-way comparison

Doximity Scribe vs Mentalyc vs Upheal

For PMHNPs and psychiatrists: Doximity Scribe is free for verified physicians and NPs, including live visit recording. Mentalyc is paid after a trial, and Upheal's free plan is limited to text, dictation and uploads, with paid AI Notes at $39/mo.

Last updated 2026-10-16

Sourced from vendor docs
No paid placement or affiliate links
Last checked 2026-10-16
Verdict in brief: Start with Doximity Scribe if you are a verified physician or NP who wants a free scribe that records live visits, and you are fine pasting notes into your EHR and building your own psychiatric templates. Choose Mentalyc if you want psychiatry and psychiatric nurse templates, a no-training policy and a Chrome extension into your current EHR, and can pay from $19.99/mo after a trial. Choose Upheal if you want an all-in-one EHR or flat $39/mo AI Notes with a psychiatry note type; its free plan covers text, dictation and uploads only.

Key differences

  • Free option: Doximity Scribe is free for verified physicians and NPs, including live visit recording (source). Upheal has a permanent free plan limited to text, dictation and uploads; Mentalyc is paid, with a 14-day trial.
  • Price after free: Mentalyc Mini $19.99/mo (40 notes); Upheal AI Notes $39/mo; Doximity Scribe stays $0 for eligible clinicians (Enterprise: contact sales).
  • Psychiatry templates: Mentalyc and Upheal name psychiatry templates on paid plans; Doximity names none and expects custom templates (setup guide).
  • EHR: Doximity is copy and paste (source); Mentalyc uses a Chrome extension into your EHR; Upheal is its own EHR.
  • Data: Doximity deletes audio and auto-deletes notes after 29 days, but publishes no no-training policy; Mentalyc says session data never trains AI; Upheal uses de-identified data unless you opt out.

Side-by-side comparison

Prices in USD. "Ask vendor" means the vendor does not publish it. Each cell carries an evidence label; see how we label evidence. Scores are research-based, from public vendor documentation; see the scorecard.

Doximity Scribe vs Mentalyc vs Upheal
FeatureDoximity ScribeMentalycUpheal
Research scoreDoximity Scribe (60/100, #7)Mentalyc (75/100, #5)Upheal (71/100, #6)
Pricing and access
Entry priceFree for eligible verified clinicians; Pro $24/user/mo adds Dialer features; Enterprise contact sales Documentation reviewedMini $19.99/mo (40 notes), or $14.99/mo billed annually Documentation reviewedFree plan; AI Notes $39/mo Documentation reviewed
Free accessPermanent free tier for physicians, NPs, PAs and CRNAs, including live visit recording Documentation reviewed14-day trial of Pro, 15 notes, no card Documentation reviewedPermanent Free plan limited to text-to-note, dictation and uploads (individual therapy) Documentation reviewed
PMHNP eligible for free accessYes, as nurse practitioners; PMHNP not named separately Documentation reviewedTrial only Documentation reviewedFree plan (limited) Documentation reviewed
Psychiatry fit
Built forGeneral medicine, customizable Documentation reviewedTherapists Documentation reviewedTherapists (all-in-one EHR) Documentation reviewed
Psychiatry templatesNo named psychiatry template; custom templates and prompts Documentation reviewedPsychiatry and psychiatric nurse templates (Pro and up) Documentation reviewedPsychiatry note type (paid plans) Documentation reviewed
Therapy formats (DAP, BIRP)Not disclosed Ask vendorYes Documentation reviewedYes Documentation reviewed
E-prescribingPlatform beta via Photon (third-party report); not part of Scribe Third-party sourcedNone documented Ask vendorNone documented Ask vendor
Privacy
HIPAA BAAYes, signed with each user at registration Documentation reviewedYes, created at sign-up Documentation reviewedYes, agreed at sign-up Documentation reviewed
AudioNot stored; discarded once the note is generated Vendor-reportedDeleted once the note is ready Documentation reviewedDeleted by default after notes Documentation reviewed
Note retentionAuto-deleted after 29 days; manual delete anytime Documentation reviewedKept until you delete Documentation reviewedKept until you delete Documentation reviewed
Model trainingNot disclosed as a policy; BAA permits de-identified use for product development Ask vendorSession data never used to train AI Vendor-reportedDe-identified data used unless you opt out Vendor-reported
Workflow
EHR transferCopy and paste Documentation reviewedChrome extension into named EHRs Vendor-reportedNotes live in Upheal's own EHR Documentation reviewed
Telehealth captureDoximity Dialer Documentation reviewedBrowser capture Documentation reviewedBuilt-in telehealth, Chrome extension, Zoom Documentation reviewed
Coding helpAdd Billing Codes quick edit Documentation reviewedAutomatic CPT (Pro and up) Documentation reviewedNot disclosed Ask vendor

Psychiatry and behavioral health fit

For PMHNPs and psychiatrists, the deciding question is whether a free general scribe is enough. Doximity Scribe is a general medical scribe you can adapt: its setup guide gives a psychiatry custom-prompt example that prioritizes mental status, risk language and treatment plan specificity (source), but no psychiatric evaluation, medication management or MSE template is named. Mentalyc and Upheal are built around therapy, with therapy note formats and a named psychiatry template on paid plans.

Doximity is the weakest of the three on documented behavioral health templates and has the least specific training policy. Its 29-day auto-delete means you must copy notes out promptly, but it also means less data sits with the vendor.

None of the three publicly describes 42 CFR Part 2 specific controls. Substance use disorder programs should get written answers on consent, counseling-note content, and redisclosure before use (Ask vendor).

Who should pick which

Practice typeBetter fit
PMHNP or psychiatrist who wants to start free with live visit recordingDoximity Scribe
Prescriber who wants a ready-made psychiatry templateMentalyc (Pro and up) or Upheal (paid plans)
Clinician who wants no AI training without opting outMentalyc
Practice that wants notes, telehealth and billing in one systemUpheal EHR
Clinician already doing telehealth in Doximity DialerDoximity Scribe
Psychologist, LCSW, LPC or LMFTMentalyc or Upheal (Doximity free eligibility does not list these licenses)

Verdict

Start with Doximity Scribe if you are a verified physician or NP who wants a free scribe that records live visits, and you are fine pasting notes into your EHR and building your own psychiatric templates. Choose Mentalyc if you want psychiatry and psychiatric nurse templates, a no-training policy and a Chrome extension into your current EHR, and can pay from $19.99/mo after a trial. Choose Upheal if you want an all-in-one EHR or flat $39/mo AI Notes with a psychiatry note type; its free plan covers text, dictation and uploads only.

Whichever you choose, confirm the BAA before any real patient audio is recorded, and get the vendor's model training terms in writing.

Related reading: Doximity Scribe review, Mentalyc review, Upheal review, Mentalyc vs Upheal, Best AI scribes for psychiatric prescribers, Best free AI scribe, and the full scorecard.

FAQ

Is Doximity Scribe really free?

Yes for verified U.S. physicians, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, CRNAs and listed students, including live visit recording, as of 2026-10-16. Psychologists, social workers and counselors are not on the published free-access list.

Can PMHNPs use Doximity Scribe for free?

Doximity lists nurse practitioners and NP students as eligible. It does not name PMHNPs separately, but the list covers NPs in general.

Is Upheal free?

Upheal has a permanent free plan limited to text, dictation, and uploads for individual therapy. AI Notes is $39/mo.

Which has psychiatry templates?

Mentalyc lists psychiatry and psychiatric nurse templates on Pro and up, and Upheal has a psychiatry note type on paid plans. Doximity names no psychiatry template; you build your own.

Do all three sign a BAA?

Yes. Doximity signs one with each user at registration; Mentalyc and Upheal put one in place at sign-up.

Does any of them train AI on my sessions?

Mentalyc says session data never trains AI. Upheal uses de-identified data unless you opt out. Doximity publishes no no-training policy, and its BAA permits de-identified use for product development: ask the vendor.

Is this medical or legal advice?

No. This is general information. Confirm BAA terms, data use, and consent requirements with each vendor and your compliance advisor before using patient data.

How were facts checked?

Doximity facts come from its official help center, product, BAA, Terms and security pages, checked on 2026-10-16. Mentalyc and Upheal facts come from our reviews of their official pages. Where a vendor does not publish something, we say Ask vendor rather than estimate it.

Sources and last checked

Doximity links checked 2026-10-16; Mentalyc and Upheal facts from our reviews of their official pages (checked 2026-10-13 and 2026-10-14). Vendors change prices and terms often; re-verify before buying.

Who curates this site

Curated by a practicing, board-certified psychiatrist, not named to avoid conflicts. From the site data: 14 vendors tracked, 100 distinct external source pages linked, last full re-check of vendor facts 2026-10-13. How we work · Editorial policy.

Get The Behavioral Health AI Brief

One short, sourced email a week: what changed in AI scribe pricing, privacy terms, and features. Free, unsubscribe anytime.

Compare with others