Review, documentation-based

Nabla review

A sourced, documentation-based review. Note quality is not yet independently tested.

Independent research. No paid rankings.
Last checked 2026-10-12

Best fit: Organizations, including behavioral health groups, that want no audio retention and short default data retention (14 days standard, per Nabla) and a written no-training stance, and that use Epic or athenahealth.

Poor fit: Solo clinicians who want to buy at a published price without a sales conversation.

Overview

Nabla was founded in Paris in 2018 by Alexandre Lebrun (CEO), Delphine Groll (COO), and Martin Raison (CTO); Lebrun previously sold AI companies to Nuance and Facebook. Nabla raised a $70 million Series C in June 2025 led by HV Capital, bringing total funding to $120 million, and has a US office in Brooklyn, New York. Its site says it is deployed in 130+ health organizations, used by 85,000+ clinicians, and supports 20M+ patient encounters per year. Nabla has shifted toward organization deals and EHR-embedded deployments (Epic, athenahealth, and Nabla Connect for other EHRs), while still offering a free trial for individuals.

Pricing

Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor). nabla.com/pricing returned 404 on 2026-10-12. Third-party trackers report a historical $119/mo Pro plan; treat as unverified. Not verified

Free tier or trial: "Try it for free" signup on the homepage; current free-tier limits: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor)

Source: Nabla homepage (free trial, scale figures), checked 2026-10-12.

EHR integration depth

Nabla lists dedicated Epic and athenahealth integrations and Nabla Connect for other EHRs. Integration specifics (what is read from and written to the chart) should be confirmed in a demo with your build.

Listed integrations: Epic and athenahealth integrations; Nabla Connect for other EHRs; export to EHR

Note quality

Not yet independently tested ClinicalAIWeekly has not run hands-on clinical testing of Nabla. Any accuracy figures you see in vendor marketing are vendor-reported. Test with your own templates and simulated visits during a trial or pilot before relying on it.

Specialty suitability

Templates: Help Center and third-party listings cite 55+ specialties and custom templates; current list: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor)

Nabla's no-audio-by-default and 14-day default note retention are among the most conservative in this group, which is attractive for behavioral health. Its 2025 funding release cited adoption growth in behavioral health settings. Short retention means you must export notes promptly, and you should confirm whether psychiatric templates (mental status exam, risk assessment, medication management) are available on your plan. Nabla does not publicly describe 42 CFR Part 2 specific controls: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor).

Security and privacy

  • BAA: HIPAA documentation available on request in the Trust Center; BAA plan availability: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor) Documentation reviewed
  • Certifications: SOC 2 Type 2 and ISO 27001 (Trust Center). HITRUST: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor) Vendor-reported
  • Data location: US clients on Google Cloud US regions; others in EU Google Cloud Documentation reviewed
  • Retention: No audio stored by default. Notes retained for a configurable period, 14 days by default. Documentation reviewed
  • Model training: Vendor states it does not train its models on your data Vendor-reported

Workflow and UX

Nabla's flow is built around speed (Nabla says it does not retain audio and stores patient data for a minimal amount of time based on the user's retention settings, 14 days standard): start the assistant on a phone, in the browser extension, or in Echo for video visits, have the conversation, and a structured note is ready within seconds. Edits and exports happen in the app, or the note lands inside Epic or athenahealth when the organization has an integration. Because notes are kept only 14 days by default, clinicians are expected to finalize and export promptly.

Nabla runs on iOS and Android, a Chrome or Edge extension, and the Echo desktop app for video visits. Notes appear within seconds. Because notes are kept 14 days by default, the workflow assumes prompt review and export.

Full fact table

FeatureNabla
Note quality and accuracyNot yet independently tested by ClinicalAIWeekly Not yet independently tested
Pricing tiers (exact, as published)Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor). nabla.com/pricing returned 404 on 2026-10-12. Third-party trackers report a historical $119/mo Pro plan; treat as unverified. Not verified
Free tier / trial"Try it for free" signup on the homepage; current free-tier limits: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor) Documentation reviewed
EHR integrationsEpic and athenahealth integrations; Nabla Connect for other EHRs; export to EHR Vendor-reported
Specialties and templatesHelp Center and third-party listings cite 55+ specialties and custom templates; current list: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor) Third-party sourced
Languages35+ languages including bilingual encounters (vendor materials as reported); confirm current list Vendor-reported
PlatformsiOS and Android apps, web, and a Chrome/Edge extension; Echo desktop app for remote encounters on Zoom, Teams, or other apps Documentation reviewed
In-person, telehealth, offlineIn-person and telehealth (Echo). Offline recording: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor) Vendor-reported
Note styles (SOAP/DAP/BIRP)SOAP and custom note formats; named DAP/BIRP availability: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor) Vendor-reported
Editing and customizationCustomizable templates, Magic Edit, dot phrases, and custom dictionaries (Core API features) Vendor-reported
Coding and billing helpE/M and ICD-10 suggestions grounded in documentation and AMA guidance (Coding product) Vendor-reported
Patient instructions and lettersPatient-friendly instructions listed as a Core API feature; letters in app: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor) Vendor-reported
Data retention and deletionNo audio stored by default. Notes retained for a configurable period, 14 days by default. Documentation reviewed
HIPAA BAA (and which plan)HIPAA documentation available on request in the Trust Center; BAA plan availability: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor) Documentation reviewed
SOC 2 / ISO / HITRUSTSOC 2 Type 2 and ISO 27001 (Trust Center). HITRUST: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor) Vendor-reported
Where data is storedUS clients on Google Cloud US regions; others in EU Google Cloud Documentation reviewed
Data used for model training?Vendor states it does not train its models on your data Vendor-reported
Consent featuresNot publicly disclosed (ask vendor) Not verified
Supportsupport@nabla.com; enterprise support details: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor) Vendor-reported
Contract termsNot publicly disclosed (ask vendor) Not verified

Pros and cons

Pros

  • No audio stored by default and 14-day default note retention
  • Explicit statement that it does not train on customer data
  • SOC 2 Type 2 and ISO 27001
  • Native mobile apps, browser extension, and desktop capture
  • Epic and athenahealth integrations

Cons

  • No public pricing page as of 2026-10-12
  • Sales-led for paid use, which slows solo purchasing
  • BAA terms for individual users not public
  • Short default retention requires disciplined export
  • Psych-specific template list not published

Alternatives

What we could not verify

  • Pricing tiers (exact, as published): Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor)
  • Free tier / trial: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor)
  • Specialties and templates: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor)
  • In-person, telehealth, offline: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor)
  • Note styles (SOAP/DAP/BIRP): Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor)
  • Patient instructions and letters: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor)
  • HIPAA BAA (and which plan): Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor)
  • SOC 2 / ISO / HITRUST: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor)
  • Consent features: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor)
  • Support: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor)
  • Contract terms: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor)
  • Note accuracy and clinical safety: not yet independently tested.

Methodology

Facts come from Nabla's official pricing, security, trust, legal, and help pages, checked 2026-10-12, with news sources used only for company background. Safety and BAA availability are treated as eligibility gates, not scores. No hands-on clinical testing has been done. Read the full methodology and editorial policy.

Bottom line

Nabla has the most conservative public data defaults in our coverage. The trade-off is opacity on pricing and a sales-led path for paid use.

Evaluating Nabla in a demo? Use the free vendor evaluation scorecard (printable, PDF) to compare up to 3 vendors.

Sources and last checked

Get the ClinicalAIWeekly brief

One short, sourced email a week: what changed in AI scribe pricing, privacy terms, and features. Free, unsubscribe anytime.