Review, documentation-based

Doximity Scribe review

Last updated 2026-10-16

How this score works: Doximity Scribe 60/100

Five categories, 0 to 20 points each, from public vendor documentation as of 2026-10-16. Unknown items score 0.

Pricing transparency and value20/20

Prices published, free plan or trial, entry price at or under $100/mo, contract terms disclosed (5 points each).

EHR integration depth0/20

Notes delivered into the EHR, Epic integration, another named native integration, in-chart or two-way workflow (5 each).

Privacy and security15/20

BAA publicly documented, SOC 2 Type 2, retention and deletion controls, model training policy (5 each; 3 if de-identified data only).

Specialty and psychiatry fit5/20

Psychiatry or behavioral health support, audio deleted by default, short note retention you set, 42 CFR Part 2 controls (5 each).

Workflow features20/20

Mobile capture, telehealth capture, coding help, patient instructions or letters (5 each).

BAA gate: ranking requires a publicly documented BAA. That gate decides whether a vendor is ranked; it does not add or remove points. (Separately, a documented BAA is one 5-point item under Privacy.) Doximity publishes a BAA that is part of its Terms of Service (BAA, Terms). Doximity Scribe is ranked #7 among vendors with a documented BAA.

Full methodology

A sourced, documentation-based review from public vendor pages. Not a hands-on test.

Independent research. No paid rankings.
Last checked 2026-10-16

At a glance

Verdict
Doximity Scribe is free, including live visit recording, for verified physicians and nurse practitioners. That makes it an easy, low-cost first try for PMHNPs and psychiatrists. The trade-offs are copy-paste EHR transfer, no built-in psychiatry or therapy templates, and data terms that do not rule out training on your data.
Best for
Verified U.S. psychiatrists and PMHNPs who want a free scribe, write their own psychiatric templates, and are comfortable pasting notes into their EHR.
Skip if
You need notes pushed into your EHR, you need a written no-training commitment, you run a 42 CFR Part 2 program, or you are a therapist without an MD, DO, NP or PA license, since free eligibility does not list psychologists, social workers or counselors.
Entry price
Free for verified U.S. physicians, NPs, PAs, CRNAs and listed students [1]. Enterprise pricing: contact sales [7].
BAA
Yes. Doximity says it signs a BAA with each user at registration, and the BAA is part of its Terms of Service [4][5][6]. Documentation reviewed
Research score
60/100. Doximity Scribe is ranked #7 among vendors with a documented BAA.
Last checked
2026-10-16

Visit Doximity Scribe product page (source)No affiliate or paid placement.

What changed
  • 2026-10-16: Initial review published, score 60/100.

Full history on the corrections page.

Who it is for and who should skip it

Who Doximity Scribe is for

  • PMHNP who wants to start free: nurse practitioners and NP students are on the free-access list [1]. Doximity does not list PMHNPs separately, but the list covers NPs in general.
  • Psychiatrist who wants a free scribe: physicians are on the free-access list [1][2].
  • Clinician who already does telehealth in Doximity Dialer: you can switch Scribe on before a Dialer call, and the note is generated when the call ends [10][11].
  • Clinician who wants coding suggestions: an "Add Billing Codes" quick edit adds codes to the note [12]. The vendor webinar demonstrates ICD-10, CPT and E/M suggestions [11].

Who should skip Doximity Scribe

  • Practice that needs EHR push or writeback: Doximity says Scribe "works separately from your EHR" and notes are copied and pasted [9].
  • Psychologist, LCSW, LPC or LMFT: these professions are not on the published free-access list [1]. Ask vendor.
  • Clinician who wants a written no-training commitment: none is published. The BAA allows de-identified data to be used for product development [4]. Ask vendor.
  • 42 CFR Part 2 program: Part 2 specific controls are not publicly documented. Ask vendor.
  • Clinician who wants to keep notes in the tool: Scribe notes are permanently deleted after 29 days [1].

Overview

Doximity Scribe is an AI note-taker inside the Doximity app and website, built into the Doximity network that more than 85% of U.S. physicians belong to, per Fierce Healthcare [15]. It records dictation or in-person and telehealth visits of up to 140 minutes per session. It then turns the transcript into an H&P, progress note, consult note or custom template [1]. Doximity launched it broadly in July 2025 after a beta it says involved more than 10,000 members [3]. Doximity groups it with Dialer (telehealth) and Ask in a "Clinical AI Suite" [7][13]. Ask is Doximity's clinical AI assistant, formerly called Doximity GPT or DoxGPT [15].

Pricing

  • Individual clinicians: $0. Free for verified U.S. physicians, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, certified registered nurse anesthetists, medical students, NP students, PA students and CRNA students. A verified Doximity account is required [1]. Documentation reviewed
  • Doximity Pro: $24/user/mo. The listed Pro features are Dialer features (unlimited Dialer minutes, group Dialer visits). No added Scribe features are listed for Pro [7]. Documentation reviewed
  • Enterprise: contact sales. Includes unlimited users and usage, EHR integration, usage reporting, single sign-on and an enterprise BAA [7]. Documentation reviewed
  • Contract terms: Paid subscriptions renew automatically, and you are emailed before a renewal charge. Members can close their account by contacting support [5]. Enterprise terms are negotiated and not public. Documentation reviewed

Free tier or trial: a permanent free tier for the eligible license types above [1].

Source: Doximity Help Center and Enterprise Solutions page, checked 2026-10-16.

EHR integration depth

For individual clinicians, transfer is copy and paste. Doximity's help center says Scribe notes are "ready to be pasted into your EHR" [1]. A September 2026 Doximity post says Scribe "works separately from your EHR," and suggests pasting the whole note or section by section [9]. The vendor webinar says notes can be copied "into any EHR with one click," with "no special integrations" [11]. Documentation reviewed

One page conflicts. The Scribe product page says you can "send it directly to the patient's chart in seconds" [2]. The how-to documentation does not describe any send-to-chart feature [1][9]. Ask vendor what that line refers to.

Enterprise Epic and Oracle Health integrations are for Dialer, not note writeback. The enterprise page lists "Epic, Haiku and other integrations" [7]. The documented Epic integration lets clinicians start a Dialer call from Epic. It reads only patient phone numbers and basic provider details through FHIR [14]. Doximity says Dialer integrates with Epic and Oracle Health, and that Scribe notes from those calls are ready when the call ends [10]. No document describes Scribe notes being written into Epic or any other EHR. A planned integration of Scribe into Aledade Assist, an EHR overlay, was announced in May 2026 [15]. Ask vendor about status.

Listed integrations: copy-paste into any EHR [1][9]. Enterprise Dialer launch from Epic Hyperspace, Hyperdrive and Haiku [14]. Dialer and Oracle Health [10]. Aledade Assist (announced) [15].

Specialty suitability

  • Built-in templates: SOAP, H&P, Consult, progress notes and simple dictation [1][2][8]. No built-in psychiatric evaluation, medication management, MSE or therapy note template (DAP, BIRP, GIRP) is named in the documentation we reviewed. Documentation reviewed
  • Custom templates and prompts: you can build custom templates on the website, and they sync to the app [1]. Doximity's setup guide gives a psychiatry example: a psychiatrist documenting a mental status evaluation can build a custom template, and a psychiatrist's custom prompt "might prioritize mental status, risk language, and treatment plan specificity" [8]. The webinar says Scribe offers "specialty-specific templates" [11]. It does not name a psychiatry template. Vendor-reported
  • Medication management notes: Not disclosed as a template. Ask vendor, or build a custom template.
  • Psychotherapy notes: Doximity does not describe keeping HIPAA psychotherapy notes separate from progress notes. Not disclosed, ask vendor.
  • E-prescribing: Doximity has an e-prescribing beta with Photon Health, which Fierce Healthcare reported in May 2026 [15]. It is not part of Scribe's documentation. Third-party sourced
  • Non-English visits: a separate "Non-English" model is available. It is slower than the English model [1]. Documentation reviewed

For psychiatry, Doximity Scribe is a general medical scribe that you can adapt. It is not a behavioral health product.

Security and privacy

  • BAA: Yes. Doximity says it enters into a BAA with each individual user at registration, and offers an institutional BAA for enterprise customers [6]. The BAA is incorporated into the Terms of Service. It covers PHI sent through tools Doximity names as secure, including Scribe [4][5]. Documentation reviewed
  • Subprocessor: Doximity says it has a BAA with OpenAI, which supplies Scribe's transcription and summarization. Scribe uses GPT-4o to summarize [1]. Vendor-reported
  • Certifications: SOC 2 Type 2 and "HIPAA/HITECH certified" per Doximity. A SOC 3 report is linked from the security page [1][6]. Vendor-reported
  • Encryption and hosting: TLS 1.2 in transit. PHI is encrypted at rest with AES-256, and databases are further encrypted with AWS Key Management Service. Servers are colocated in U.S. facilities [6]. Vendor-reported
  • Audio: "We do not store or retain any audio." Recordings are processed in real time and discarded once the note is generated [3]. Vendor-reported
  • Note retention: Scribe notes are available for 29 days and then permanently deleted. You can delete a note sooner by hand [1]. The webinar says "thirty days" [11]. We use the help center figure. No clinician-set retention window is documented. Documentation reviewed
  • Model training: Not disclosed as a policy, ask vendor. The BAA lets Doximity use AI technologies, "including third-party hosted systems and models," to process PHI to "provide, support, secure, maintain, improve, and administer" its services. It also lets Doximity de-identify PHI and use the de-identified data "for any lawful purpose, including product development" [4]. Separately, the Terms grant Doximity a license to use submitted content, including content from Scribe, to "create, train, fine-tune, and improve" AI models. PHI is governed by the BAA, not by that license [5]. No document says Scribe content is never used for training. Documentation reviewed
  • Consent: The Terms require you to get consent from everyone whose speech may be transcribed or summarized, in person or on Dialer. They also say Doximity is not responsible if you fail to [5]. Documentation reviewed
  • 42 CFR Part 2: Not disclosed, ask vendor.

Accuracy and speaker attribution

We found no published, independent evaluation of Doximity Scribe's accuracy or speaker attribution. Peer-reviewed comparisons of commercial scribes that we found do not name the products they tested.

What Doximity itself says:

  • Scribe "may generate occasional inaccuracies." Doximity tells users to confirm note details and to treat Scribe like "a helpful 4th-year med student," "trust but verify" [1]. Documentation reviewed
  • Doximity says its microphone is designed to "separate speakers" and filter background noise [11]. No accuracy data is published to support this. Vendor-reported
  • Doximity says edits made with Ask and quick edits use your transcript and note as context and "will not introduce or invent new clinical information" [12]. Vendor-reported

Speaker attribution in multi-person sessions (family members, couples, interpreters): Not disclosed, ask vendor.

Workflow and UX

You record on the iOS or Android app or the website, pausing and resuming as needed. You can also switch on Scribe before a Dialer voice or video call [1][10][11]. Notes typically generate in under a minute [1]. On the website, Ask sits next to each note and can answer questions about the visit, pull missed details from the transcript, or make requested edits. Quick edits include More Concise, More Detailed, Add Billing Codes, Update Pronouns and Guideline Check [12]. Doximity's webinar demonstrates a patient-friendly after-visit summary sent by Dialer text [11]. A desktop app with "direct copy-paste into the EHR" launched in June 2026 [13].

Full fact table

Legend: green Documentation reviewed, blue Vendor-reported, amber Third-party sourced, red Ask vendor.
FeatureDoximity Scribe
Pricing
Pricing tiers (as published)Scribe $0 for eligible verified clinicians; Doximity Pro $24/user/mo (Dialer features); Enterprise contact sales [1][7]. Documentation reviewed
Free tier / trialPermanent free tier for physicians, NPs, PAs, CRNAs and listed students [1]. Documentation reviewed
PMHNP eligible for free tierYes, as nurse practitioners; PMHNP not named separately [1]. Documentation reviewed
Therapists (psychologist, LCSW, LPC, LMFT) eligibleNot listed. Ask vendor Ask vendor
Privacy
BAAYes. Signed with each user at registration; part of Terms [4][5][6]. Documentation reviewed
SOC 2 Type 2Yes [1][6]. Vendor-reported
Audio retentionNot stored; discarded once the note is generated [3]. Vendor-reported
Note retentionAuto-deleted after 29 days; manual delete anytime [1]. Documentation reviewed
Model trainingNot disclosed as a policy; BAA permits de-identified use for product development [4]. Ask vendor Ask vendor
42 CFR Part 2Not disclosed. Ask vendor Ask vendor
EHR and platforms
EHR integrationsCopy-paste into any EHR; enterprise Epic and Oracle Health integrations are for Dialer, not note writeback [1][9][10][14]. Documentation reviewed
PlatformsiOS, Android, website, desktop app [1][13]. Documentation reviewed
In-person, telehealthIn-person capture and Doximity Dialer voice and video [1][10][11]. Documentation reviewed
Psychiatry and notes
TemplatesSOAP, H&P, Consult, progress, dictation; custom templates and prompts [1][8]. Documentation reviewed
MSE / med managementNo named template; psychiatry custom-prompt example in vendor guide [8]. Vendor-reported
Therapy notes (DAP, BIRP) / psychotherapy notesNot disclosed. Ask vendor Ask vendor
Workflow and support
Coding helpAdd Billing Codes quick edit [12]. Documentation reviewed
Patient instructionsAfter-visit summary via Dialer text [11]. Vendor-reported
Accuracy evidenceNo published independent evaluation found; vendor warns of occasional inaccuracies [1]
Research score60/100, rank #7 among vendors with a documented BAA Documentation reviewed

How it compares for PMHNPs and psychiatrists: Doximity Scribe vs Mentalyc vs Upheal

Mentalyc and Upheal facts come from existing ClinicalAIWeekly data (scorecard data as of 2026-10-13 and our Mentalyc and Upheal reviews, last checked 2026-10-13 and 2026-10-14) [16][17][18]. Doximity facts are from the sources below, checked 2026-10-16.

FeatureDoximity ScribeMentalycUpheal
Research scoreDoximity Scribe (60/100, #7)Mentalyc (75/100, #5)Upheal (71/100, #6)
Entry priceFree (eligible licenses)Mini $19.99/mo, or $14.99/mo billed annuallyFree plan; AI Notes $39/mo
Free accessPermanent free tier for MDs, DOs, NPs, PAs14-day trial of Pro, 15 notesPermanent Free plan (text, dictation, uploads; individual therapy)
Built forGeneral medicine, customizableTherapistsTherapists (all-in-one EHR)
Psychiatry templatesNo named psychiatry template; custom templatesPsychiatry and psychiatric nurse templates (Pro and up)Psychiatry note type (paid plans)
Therapy formats (DAP, BIRP)Not disclosed Ask vendorYesYes
E-prescribingPlatform beta via Photon (third-party report); not part of ScribeNone documentedNone documented
EHR transferCopy-pasteChrome extension into named EHRsNotes live in Upheal's own EHR
BAAYes, at registrationYes, created at signupYes, agreed at signup
AudioNot storedDeleted once note is readyDeleted by default after notes
Note retentionAuto-deleted after 29 daysKept until you deleteKept until you delete
Model trainingNot disclosed; de-identified use permitted by BAASession data never used (vendor-stated)De-identified data used unless you opt out
Coding helpYes (Add Billing Codes)Automatic CPT (Pro and up)Not disclosed Ask vendor
Telehealth captureDoximity DialerBrowser captureBuilt-in telehealth, Chrome extension, Zoom

Reading the table: Doximity and Upheal both have permanent free tiers. Doximity's includes live visit recording and names NPs, while Upheal's Free plan covers text-to-note, dictation and uploads. Mentalyc and Upheal are built around therapy, with therapy note formats and a named psychiatry template. Doximity is the weakest of the three on documented behavioral health templates and has the least specific training policy. Its 29-day auto-delete means you must copy notes out promptly, but it also means less data sits with the vendor.

Full side-by-side page: Doximity Scribe vs Mentalyc vs Upheal.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Free for physicians and NPs, including PMHNPs [1]
  • Published BAA signed with each user at registration [4][6]
  • Audio not stored [3]
  • Notes auto-deleted after 29 days [1]
  • Coding suggestions and Guideline Check in the editor [12]
  • Built into Dialer telehealth [10]

Cons

  • Copy-paste only; no Scribe note writeback documented [1][9][14]
  • No built-in psychiatry, MSE, med management or therapy note templates documented
  • No published no-training commitment; BAA permits de-identified use for product development [4]
  • Retention window cannot be set by the clinician [1]
  • Free tier does not list psychologists, social workers or counselors [1]
  • No published accuracy or speaker-attribution evaluation

Alternatives

Methodology

Facts come from Doximity's official help center, product, enterprise, security, BAA and Terms of Service pages, plus Doximity's own blog, education posts and webinar transcript, checked 2026-10-16. One third-party news source (Fierce Healthcare) is used for company background and the e-prescribing beta. This is not a hands-on test. The score uses rubric v2 and is published on the scorecard. BAA availability is an eligibility gate, not a score input. Read the full methodology and editorial policy.

Item scores (rubric v2):

  • Pricing 20: prices published 5 ($0 Scribe, Pro $24, Enterprise contact) [1][7]; free plan 5 [1]; entry at or under $100/mo 5 ($0) [1]; contract terms disclosed 5 (auto-renewal and cancellation terms in ToS; free tier has no contract) [5].
  • EHR 0: notes delivered into EHR 0 (copy-paste only [1][9]); Epic integration 0 (documented Epic integration is Dialer launch reading phone numbers only, not Scribe [14]); other named native 0 (Oracle Health is a Dialer integration [10]; Aledade only announced [15]); in-chart or two-way 0.
  • Privacy 15: BAA 5 [4][6]; SOC 2 Type 2 5 [1][6]; retention and deletion controls 5 (29-day auto-delete, manual delete, audio not stored) [1][3]; model training 0 (no stated no-training or de-identified-only policy; BAA allows PHI processing to "improve" services and de-identified use for product development) [4].
  • Psychiatry fit 5: psychiatry or behavioral health support 0 (no psychiatry template documented; only a custom-prompt example [8]); audio deleted by default 5 [3]; clinician-set short retention 0 (fixed 29 days, not configurable [1]); Part 2 0.
  • Workflow 20: mobile 5 [1]; telehealth 5 (Dialer) [10][11]; coding 5 [12]; patient instructions 5 (after-visit summary via Dialer text) [11].

Bottom line

Doximity Scribe is the easiest free starting point in our coverage for PMHNPs and psychiatrists who already have a Doximity account. Expect to build your own psychiatric templates and paste notes into your EHR. Before using it with patients, get answers in writing on model training and on how it handles multi-speaker sessions.

Evaluating Doximity Scribe in a demo? Use the free vendor evaluation scorecard and the psychiatry buyer checklist.

Visit Doximity Scribe product page (source)No affiliate or paid placement.

Sources and last checked

Disclaimer: General information only, not medical, legal, or compliance advice. Confirm HIPAA terms and the BAA directly with the vendor before use. This page contains no patient information.

Who curates this site

Curated by a practicing, board-certified psychiatrist, not named to avoid conflicts. From the site data: 14 vendors tracked, 100 distinct external source pages linked, last full re-check of vendor facts 2026-10-13. How we work · Editorial policy.

Get The Behavioral Health AI Brief

One short, sourced email a week: what changed in AI scribe pricing, privacy terms, and features. Free, unsubscribe anytime.

Compare with others