Disclosures
- How we make money: Some links may earn us a referral fee at no cost to you. Fees never affect scores, rankings, or what we cover, and we accept no paid placement.
- How this was researched: Everything on this page comes from public vendor documentation, regulators, and third-party sources, each linked below with the date we checked it. We did not test these products hands-on.
- Not advice: General business software information, not medical, legal, billing, or compliance advice. Confirm current prices, state rules, and BAA terms directly with the vendor before you buy.
Quick answer
TheraNest scores 74/100, first of the thirteen EHRs on our comparison [1]. It leads on published cost: the Advanced plan is $59 per therapist per month and the Ensora eRx + PDMP add-on is $45 per therapist per month plus a $135 one-time setup fee per practice [2]. It is not built around psychiatry: prescribing is a paid add-on, and Ensora's own comparison says Valant and ICANotes are built around medication management [3]. We found no lab or API documentation.
Read scores as documentation scores. A low score often means a vendor does not publish the information, not that the feature is poor. Scores come from the Practice Stack rubric: six criteria worth 90 points, rescaled to 100.
What the documentation shows
| Item | From public documentation |
|---|---|
| Plans | Essentials $29, Advanced $59, Premier $89 per therapist/mo; unlimited clients on every plan; annual plans get one month free [2] Vendor-reported |
| E-prescribing and EPCS | Ensora eRx + PDMP add-on, $45 per therapist/mo plus $135 one-time setup per practice [2]. Includes EPCS through DoseSpot with identity proofing and two-factor [4][5] Vendor-reported |
| PDMP | Included in the eRx + PDMP add-on; state coverage, including California, not published [4] Vendor-reported |
| Telehealth | Unlimited individual and group telehealth on Advanced and Premier; $12 per therapist/mo on Essentials [2] Vendor-reported |
| Billing | Advanced: 50 claims and 50 eligibility checks per practice/mo, then $0.23 per claim and $0.25 per eligibility check. Premier: unlimited claims and eligibility checks subject to a Fair Usage Policy [2] Vendor-reported |
| Card payments | 2.99% + $0.30 per transaction [2] Vendor-reported |
| Texting | Text and phone reminders: 50 per practice/mo on Advanced, then $0.10 per reminder; unlimited on Premier [2]. Reminders take Confirm or Cancel replies; general two-way texting not documented [6] Vendor-reported |
| eFax | Not found in public docs Not publicly disclosed |
| Migration in | Annual plans: implementation team helps export, format, and load client and staff data. Monthly plans: self-import free, or migration team from $199. Notes and billing data do not transfer [3] Vendor-reported |
| Export out | Outbound export format not published Not publicly disclosed |
| Other fees | AMA CPT license fee $19.50 per therapist per year, billed in December [2] Vendor-reported |
| Security | BAA provided, including during the trial [7]; optional MFA that admins can enable for the organization [8]; SOC 2 or HITRUST not found in public docs Vendor-reported |
Rubric sub-scores
Same scores as the comparison page [1].
| EHR | Total cost of ownership (25) | Prescribing workflow (25) | Billing and claims (15) | Interoperability (10) | Data portability (10) | Telehealth (5) | Points | Score |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TheraNest (Ensora Health) | 5 | 4 | 4 | 1 | 2 | 4 | 67/90 | 74 |
Who the documentation fits
The documentation fits a therapy-led practice that adds one or a few prescribers and wants a low, published all-in price: $59 Advanced plus $45 eRx is $104 per prescriber per month before one-time and usage fees [2].
Gaps to ask about: Prescribing depth (prescribing is an add-on) [3]; no published lab, API, or outbound export documentation; PDMP state coverage not published [4].
Where it sits
On the comparison page, TheraNest (Ensora Health) leads at 74, CharmHealth and OptiMantra tie at 73, PracticeQ (IntakeQ) has 72, Osmind 68, AdvancedMD and ICANotes 66 each, Valant, SimplePractice, TherapyNotes, Practice Fusion, and DrChrono 60 each, and Tebra 57 [1].
How we researched this page
Facts come from vendor pricing pages, help centers, and published price lists, plus third-party sources where vendors publish nothing. We did not test this product hands-on. Prices are list prices on the check date and can change.
Sources
- ClinicalAIWeekly: Psychiatric EHR comparison (scores and rubric sub-scores). Checked 2026-10-23.
- Ensora Health: TheraNest pricing and add-ons. Checked 2026-10-23.
- Ensora Health: TheraNest vs SimplePractice (vendor-written; used only for TheraNest's own plans, prices, and migration terms). Checked 2026-10-23.
- TheraNest: ePrescription (EPCS and optional PDMP tool). Checked 2026-10-23.
- Ensora Experience: Setup electronic prescribing (DoseSpot, identity proofing, two-factor). Checked 2026-10-23.
- Ensora Experience: Set up text appointment reminders. Checked 2026-10-23.
- Ensora Experience: HIPAA and HITECH compliance (BAA). Checked 2026-10-23.
- Ensora Health blog: TheraNest multi-factor authentication. Checked 2026-10-23.