Home / Practice Stack / Switching EHRs

Practice Stack: Switching guide

Switching from Practice Fusion or another EHR

Data export, migration support, and published costs by vendor, from public documentation.

Draft 2026-10-23. Vendor facts verified 2026-10-21 to 2026-10-23 (see dated Sources).

Disclosures

  • How we make money: Some links may earn us a referral fee at no cost to you. Fees never affect scores, rankings, or what we cover, and we accept no paid placement.
  • How this was researched: Everything on this page comes from public vendor documentation, regulators, and third-party sources, each linked below with the date we checked it. We did not test these products hands-on.
  • Not advice: General business software information, not medical, legal, billing, or compliance advice. Confirm current prices, state rules, and BAA terms directly with the vendor before you buy.

Quick answer

Before you leave Practice Fusion or another EHR, run its export, check the files, and check your contract end date. Practice Fusion documents a FHIR bulk export [1] and requires an annual commitment [2]. Among destinations, CharmHealth and DrChrono document free bulk exports [3][4], and TheraNest, AdvancedMD, and TherapyNotes publish inbound migration terms [5][6][7].

Steps

  1. Export first. Request the full export from your current EHR and open the files before you cancel. Practice Fusion: FHIR bulk export [1].
  2. Check the contract. Practice Fusion is annual [2]; DrChrono and Tebra auto-renew with 60 days notice [8][9].
  3. Re-enroll prescribing. EPCS identity proofing and PDMP setup are vendor-specific and some carry one-time fees, such as $135 at TheraNest [10], $100 PDMP at CharmHealth [11], and $699 PDMP at SimplePractice [12]. See the EPCS cost guide.
  4. Plan what will not move. TheraNest says notes and billing data do not transfer in its migration [5]; ask every vendor the same question.
  5. Keep read access. Retention after cancellation varies: two months at CharmHealth [13], 90 days download at OptiMantra [14], 30 days at DrChrono [8], 60 days at Tebra [9].

Export, migration, and contract terms by vendor

EHRExport outMigration in (published cost)Contract
Practice Fusion (leaving)FHIR API with bulk export for all patients or groups [1] Documentation reviewedNot applicableAnnual commitment required on the $199/mo license [2]: check your renewal date before you sign elsewhere Vendor-reported
TheraNest (Ensora Health)Outbound format not published Not publicly disclosedAnnual plans: implementation team helps load client and staff data. Monthly: self-import free or migration team from $199. Notes and billing data do not transfer [5] Vendor-reportedMonthly or annual [5] Vendor-reported
CharmHealthFHIR R4, HL7 CCDA, CSV; bulk FHIR NDJSON; bulk CCDA up to 1,000 records/day at no extra cost [3][15]; data kept two months after cancellation [13] Documentation reviewedTraining and setup assistance quoted on request [11] Vendor-reportedMonthly; annual optional [11] Vendor-reported
OptiMantraPDF, Excel, CSV; four weeks notice; first export free, later exports $500 [16] Documentation reviewedBasic data import listed in base plan; vendor says it will upload your data [17] Vendor-reportedNo long-term commitment, 30-day notice [17] Vendor-reported
PracticeQ (IntakeQ)Self-serve exports; full account export as .zip for $75 [18] Documentation reviewedNot found in public docs Not publicly disclosedNot found in our sources
OsmindVendor says your data comes with you; format not published [19] Vendor-reportedNot found in public docs Not publicly disclosedNot found in our sources
AdvancedMDNot published Not publicly disclosedPM data migration $800 to $2,000 by tier; clinical migration custom quote [6] Vendor-reportedContract length not published [6]
ICANotesEHI export at no extra cost as TSV with PDF and Excel (Classic help center) [20] Documentation reviewedNot found in public docs Not publicly disclosed3-month commitment, then 15 days notice [21] Vendor-reported
ValantBulk export terms not published; API billed by call volume [22] Documentation reviewedNot found in public docs Not publicly disclosedNot found in our sources
SimplePracticeNot covered in our sources Not publicly disclosedNot covered in our sources Not publicly disclosedNot covered in our sources
TherapyNotesNot covered in our sources Not publicly disclosedFree client data import from another EMR [7] Documentation reviewedNot covered in our sources
DrChronoSelf-service EHI export, single patient or whole practice, ZIP, no extra charge [4] Documentation reviewedInbound migration free or fee by format [23] Vendor-reportedOne-year term, auto-renews, 60 days notice [8] Vendor-reported
Tebra (formerly Kareo)Bulk XML Summary of Care files plus documents [24]; on termination XLS or CSV only, kept 60 days, help $100/hr [9] Documentation reviewedNot found in public docs Not publicly disclosedAuto-renews unless notice 60 days before term end [9] Vendor-reported

How we researched this page

From vendor pricing pages, help centers, and terms. We did not test any migration hands-on.

Sources

  1. Practice Fusion: FHIR API specifications. Checked 2026-10-21.
  2. Practice Fusion: Pricing. Checked 2026-10-21.
  3. CharmHealth: Electronic Health Information (EHI) export. Checked 2026-10-21.
  4. DrChrono Support: Creating a new EHI export request. Checked 2026-10-21.
  5. Ensora Health: TheraNest vs SimplePractice (vendor-written; used only for TheraNest's own plans, prices, and migration terms). Checked 2026-10-23.
  6. AdvancedMD: Software pricing and FAQ. Checked 2026-10-21.
  7. TherapyNotes Support: Pricing and subscription options. Checked 2026-10-21.
  8. DrChrono: Terms and conditions. Checked 2026-10-21.
  9. Tebra: Term, termination and return of data FAQ. Checked 2026-10-21.
  10. Ensora Health: TheraNest pricing and add-ons. Checked 2026-10-23.
  11. CharmHealth: EHR pricing and add-ons. Checked 2026-10-23.
  12. SimplePractice Support: Adding PDMP to your account. Checked 2026-10-21.
  13. CharmHealth: Pricing FAQ. Checked 2026-10-21.
  14. OptiMantra: Master Subscription Agreement. Checked 2026-10-21.
  15. CharmHealth: Certified EHR costs and fees disclosure. Checked 2026-10-21.
  16. OptiMantra Help: Export data out of OptiMantra. Checked 2026-10-21.
  17. OptiMantra: Pricing. Checked 2026-10-23.
  18. PracticeQ help: Account export ($75). Checked 2026-10-23.
  19. Osmind: Plans and pricing, including FAQ. Checked 2026-10-21.
  20. ICANotes Help (Classic): Patient data export, individual and group. Checked 2026-10-21.
  21. ICANotes: Pricing. Checked 2026-10-21.
  22. Valant: Pricing list for additional services, effective Dec 16, 2024 (PDF). Checked 2026-10-23.
  23. DrChrono: Pricing. Checked 2026-10-21.
  24. Tebra Help Center: Export patient clinical data. Checked 2026-10-21.