Disclosures
- How we make money: Some links may earn us a referral fee at no cost to you. Fees never affect scores, rankings, or what we cover, and we accept no paid placement.
- How this was researched: Everything on this page comes from public vendor documentation, regulators, and third-party sources, each linked below with the date we checked it. We did not test these products hands-on.
- Not advice: General business software information, not medical, legal, billing, or compliance advice. Confirm current prices, state rules, and BAA terms directly with the vendor before you buy.
Short answer
For one prescriber, published EPCS-related costs range from about $4 a month (Tebra, after roughly $575 in setup fees) to $65 a month (TherapyNotes), and SimplePractice adds $788 in one-time e-prescribing and PDMP setup fees. Several vendors fold EPCS into the plan price or do not publish it at all. Standalone tools such as iPrescribe start at $30 per license per month billed annually [9].
What the DEA requires
- Identity proofing: Each prescriber must get a two-factor credential from a credential service provider approved for identity proofing at NIST SP 800-63-1 Assurance Level 3 or above, or a Federal Bridge cross-certified certification authority [1] Documentation reviewed.
- Two-factor signing: Signing a controlled substance prescription needs two of three factors: something you know, something you are (biometric), or a hard token separate from the computer that meets FIPS 140-2 Security Level 1 [2] Documentation reviewed.
- Certified software: The application must pass a third-party audit or DEA-approved certification before use, and again every two years or when EPCS functions change, and the vendor must share the report with practitioners on request [3] Documentation reviewed. Ask your vendor for it.
Medicare Part D
Under Section 2003 of the SUPPORT Act, CMS requires Schedule II to V prescriptions for Part D and MA-PD beneficiaries to be sent electronically. Prescribers are compliant at a 70% EPCS rate, with an automatic exception for 100 or fewer qualifying Part D controlled substance prescriptions per year [4] Documentation reviewed.
The cost layers
- Base EHR subscription.
- E-prescribing module, often per prescriber.
- EPCS add-on, monthly or annual.
- Identity proofing and two-factor token, one-time or annual.
- PDMP integration setup and per-user fees, sometimes passed through from Appriss (Bamboo Health).
A DoseSpot market overview from September 2023 estimated EPCS at $75 to $135 per prescriber per year and identity proofing and two-factor from $5 one-time to $75 per year [8] Third-party sourced. These are vendor-published industry estimates, not quotes.
EPCS and PDMP fees by EHR
| EHR | EPCS / eRx fee | Identity proofing and 2FA | PDMP integration | Our monthly EPCS-related estimate |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| SimplePractice | $49/mo ePrescribe + $89 setup [10] | Part of EPCS registration; restarting requires paying the $89 setup again [11] | $699 one-time per practice + $6.25/mo per clinician [12] | About $55/mo after setup; $788 one-time |
| TherapyNotes | $65/mo per prescriber; EPCS optional within ePrescribe [13] | No fee for ID proofing [14] | Not covered in our sources | $65/mo |
| Osmind One | $49/mo per clinician, plus one-time setup (amount not published) [15] | Not published | One-time per practice per state (amount not published) [15] | $49/mo plus unpublished setup |
| CharmHealth | $250/yr per provider, includes eRx [16] | Included in EPCS fee, with hard tokens [17] | $100 one-time per provider, possible Appriss fee [18] | About $21/mo; $100 one-time |
| AdvancedMD | Typically $35/mo, includes PDMP [19] | Not published | Included in EPCS fee per vendor | $35/mo |
| Tebra | About $75 one-time per provider [20] | Included in setup per vendor | $500 one-time per facility + about $50/user/yr [20] | About $4/mo; about $575 one-time |
| Valant | Vendor says included [21] | Not published | Vendor says included, 43 states | Included in quote (base price not public) |
| OptiMantra | $38/mo eRx license with EPCS [22] | Token code via VIP Access app; fee not published [23] | No OptiMantra or MDToolbox fee; possible Bamboo Health fees; certain states only [24] | $38/mo |
| Practice Fusion | Included in $199/mo provider license [25] | Credential partner and smartphone app; fee not published [26] | Six states only (AZ, ID, IL, NC, TX, OH) [27] | Included in base price |
| ICANotes | e-Prescribing in $213/mo Prescribing plan [28] | Not published | Not covered in our sources | Bundled in plan |
Full EHR comparison and scores: Psychiatric EHR comparison.
Standalone e-prescribing
- iPrescribe (DrFirst product): Mobile $30 per license/mo and Practice $50 per license/mo, both billed annually, with unlimited controlled and non-controlled prescriptions and in-workflow PDMP checking; Practice adds desktop access and multi-state controlled substance prescribing; Enterprise for EHR integration is custom priced [9] Vendor-reported. Osmind documents iPrescribe as its mobile option [15].
- DrFirst Rcopia: Standalone list price not publicly disclosed Not publicly disclosed. TherapyNotes, SimplePractice, and Osmind all document DrFirst as their e-prescribing or PDMP partner [29][12][15].
- DoseSpot-based tools: DoseSpot sells mainly to platforms and does not publish prices; it directs buyers to sales [8] Not publicly disclosed.
State mandates, including California
Many states have their own EPCS mandates, separate from CMS rules [4]. Check your state board; we have not yet compiled a verified state list.
California: Since January 1, 2022, prescriptions must be issued electronically, and controlled substance e-prescriptions must comply with 21 CFR Part 1311 [6] Documentation reviewed. Exemptions include temporary technology failure (document within 72 hours for controlled substances), out-of-state pharmacies, and, since 2023, prescribers issuing 100 or fewer prescriptions per year, who must register annually with the Board of Pharmacy [5] Documentation reviewed. California also requires a CURES check before the first Schedule II to IV prescription and at least every six months while the medication continues [7] Documentation reviewed. SimplePractice notes California PDMP integration has its own instructions and possible extra fees [12].
Questions to ask a vendor
- Is EPCS included, monthly, or annual, and per prescriber?
- What do identity proofing and the token cost, and do they renew?
- What is the PDMP setup fee per practice, state, or provider, and is my state subsidized?
- Can I see your current DEA EPCS audit or certification report?
- What setup fees are forfeited if I cancel?
Sources
- 21 CFR 1311.105: Authentication credential requirements. Checked 2026-10-21.
- 21 CFR 1311.115: Two-factor authentication. Checked 2026-10-21.
- 21 CFR 1311.300: Third-party audits or certifications. Checked 2026-10-21.
- CMS: EPCS Program. Checked 2026-10-21.
- Medical Board of California: E-prescriptions. Checked 2026-10-21.
- California Business and Professions Code 688. Checked 2026-10-21.
- California Health and Safety Code 11165.4. Checked 2026-10-21.
- DoseSpot blog: How much does an ePrescribing platform cost (Sep 2023). Checked 2026-10-21.
- iPrescribe: Pricing. Checked 2026-10-21.
- SimplePractice: EHR pricing and plans. Checked 2026-10-21.
- SimplePractice Support: Completing EPCS registration. Checked 2026-10-21.
- SimplePractice Support: Adding PDMP to your account. Checked 2026-10-21.
- TherapyNotes Support: Pricing and subscription options. Checked 2026-10-21.
- TherapyNotes Support: Enabling EPCS. Checked 2026-10-21.
- Osmind: Plans and pricing, including FAQ. Checked 2026-10-21.
- CharmHealth: EHR pricing and add-ons. Checked 2026-10-21.
- CharmHealth: Pricing FAQ. Checked 2026-10-21.
- CharmHealth: PDMP gateway interface. Checked 2026-10-21.
- AdvancedMD: Software pricing and FAQ. Checked 2026-10-21.
- Tebra: Pricing and FAQ. Checked 2026-10-21.
- Valant blog: EHR for psychiatric prescribers (vendor-written). Checked 2026-10-21.
- OptiMantra: Pricing. Checked 2026-10-21.
- OptiMantra Help: Use e-prescribing (eRx). Checked 2026-10-21.
- OptiMantra Help: e-prescribing (eRx) FAQs. Checked 2026-10-21.
- Practice Fusion: Pricing. Checked 2026-10-21.
- Practice Fusion: Get started with EPCS. Checked 2026-10-21.
- Practice Fusion: EPCS and PDMP. Checked 2026-10-21.
- ICANotes: Pricing. Checked 2026-10-21.
- TherapyNotes Support: Getting started with ePrescribe. Checked 2026-10-21.
What changed
- 2026-10-21: Added OptiMantra and Practice Fusion fee rows.
- 2026-10-21: First draft. Vendor fees and federal and California rules checked 2026-10-21.