Review, documentation-based

Heidi Health review

A sourced, documentation-based review. Note quality is not yet independently tested.

Independent research. No paid rankings.
Last checked 2026-10-12

Best fit: Clinicians who want to start free, practices that want native desktop and mobile apps, multilingual practices, and athenahealth or Epic users.

Poor fit: Buyers who want the lowest paid price for unlimited notes, or teams that want a written model-training policy before trialing.

Overview

Heidi was founded in Melbourne, Australia, in 2021 by Dr. Thomas Kelly (a former vascular surgical resident), Waleed Mussa, and Yu Liu, and began launching products in early 2024 (TechCrunch). In October 2025 it closed a $65 million Series B led by Point72 Private Investments at a $465 million valuation, bringing total funding to $96.6 million (Heidi press release). At that time Heidi reported more than 2 million consults a week in 110 languages across 116 countries; its homepage now cites 175M+ patient interactions supported worldwide. Heidi sells both self-serve (Free, Clinician, Practice) and enterprise plans, and lists health system customers such as Beth Israel Lahey Health and MaineGeneral Health on its site.

Pricing

Free $0; Clinician $150/mo monthly or $110/mo billed yearly; Practice $180 per seat/mo billed yearly; Max seat upgrade $409/mo monthly or $299/mo yearly (Clinician) and $399/mo (Practice); Enterprise: custom (US prices) Documentation reviewed

Free tier or trial: Yes. Free plan with unlimited transcription and standard templates; Ask Heidi and advanced templates limited

Source: Heidi pricing (US), checked 2026-10-12.

EHR integration depth

Heidi lists a native athenahealth integration with schedule sync and structured note writeback, and an Epic integration via SMART on FHIR with patient and encounter context and draft writeback. On its pricing grid, EHR integration is an add-on for some plans.

Listed integrations: Native athenahealth integration (schedule sync, structured writeback); Epic via SMART on FHIR; desktop app integrations; EHR integration is an add-on on some plans

Note quality

Not yet independently tested ClinicalAIWeekly has not run hands-on clinical testing of Heidi. Any accuracy figures you see in vendor marketing are vendor-reported. Test with your own templates and simulated visits during a trial or pilot before relying on it.

Specialty suitability

Templates: Standard templates on Free; advanced templates and team template sharing on paid plans; template configuration 1:1 on higher tiers

Heidi publishes progress note resources on its site (psychiatry-specific templates: Not publicly disclosed, ask vendor), and its configurable retention (1 to 90 day auto-delete for organizations) and default audio deletion suit practices that want short retention of sensitive material. Because Heidi increasingly drafts patient-facing recaps and runs agents over chart data, behavioral health practices should decide which outputs are allowed for sensitive visits and keep patient recaps behind clinician approval (which Heidi says is the default). Heidi does not publicly describe 42 CFR Part 2 specific controls: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor).

Security and privacy

  • BAA: Yes. Heidi states it makes a BAA available to every covered entity it works with; plan-level conditions: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor) Documentation reviewed
  • Certifications: SOC 2 Type II, ISO/IEC 27001:2022, ISO/IEC 42001, Cyber Essentials Plus (privacy policy). HITRUST: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor) Vendor-reported
  • Data location: Regional hosting; US customer data hosted in the United States (also AU, UK, EU, Canada, Switzerland) Documentation reviewed
  • Retention: Audio deleted once the transcript is created unless you enable a recording-saving feature. Organization auto-deletion configurable from 1 to 90 days; otherwise retained until deleted. Flexible retention on team plans. Documentation reviewed
  • Model training: Safety page says identifiers are stripped before processing. Explicit model-training policy for customer data: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor) Vendor-reported

Workflow and UX

With Heidi you open a session (on web, phone, or the desktop app), record or dictate, and a note is generated from the template you pick. The desktop app can dictate into any window and capture telehealth audio without a second login. After the visit Heidi can draft follow-on documents such as referral letters, care plans, and patient recaps, and its newer agent features can prep charts before clinic. Notes reach the EHR by copy and paste, by the athenahealth or Epic integrations, or through desktop app integrations, depending on plan.

Heidi spans web, iOS, Android, and a desktop app that can dictate into any window and capture telehealth audio. The breadth of features (agents, evidence, letters) is powerful but means more settings to learn.

Full fact table

FeatureHeidi
Note quality and accuracyNot yet independently tested by ClinicalAIWeekly Not yet independently tested
Pricing tiers (exact, as published)Free $0; Clinician $150/mo monthly or $110/mo billed yearly; Practice $180 per seat/mo billed yearly; Max seat upgrade $409/mo monthly or $299/mo yearly (Clinician) and $399/mo (Practice); Enterprise: custom (US prices) Documentation reviewed
Free tier / trialYes. Free plan with unlimited transcription and standard templates; Ask Heidi and advanced templates limited Documentation reviewed
EHR integrationsNative athenahealth integration (schedule sync, structured writeback); Epic via SMART on FHIR; desktop app integrations; EHR integration is an add-on on some plans Vendor-reported
Specialties and templatesStandard templates on Free; advanced templates and team template sharing on paid plans; template configuration 1:1 on higher tiers Vendor-reported
LanguagesVendor reports use in 110 languages (Series B release); research cites transcription across 77 languages Vendor-reported
PlatformsWeb, iOS, Android, and Heidi Desktop for macOS and Windows Documentation reviewed
In-person, telehealth, offlineIn-person and telehealth (Desktop captures call audio directly). Offline recording: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor) Vendor-reported
Note styles (SOAP/DAP/BIRP)Template library includes SOAP and specialty formats; named DAP/BIRP availability: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor) Vendor-reported
Editing and customizationTemplate editor, word library, auto-edit rules, and "note insights" that propose fixes from your edits Vendor-reported
Coding and billing helpCoding listed as a paid-plan feature on the pricing grid Vendor-reported
Patient instructions and lettersDrafts referrals, letters, care plans, and patient recaps from the note; recaps wait for clinician approval Vendor-reported
Data retention and deletionAudio deleted once the transcript is created unless you enable a recording-saving feature. Organization auto-deletion configurable from 1 to 90 days; otherwise retained until deleted. Flexible retention on team plans. Documentation reviewed
HIPAA BAA (and which plan)Yes. Heidi states it makes a BAA available to every covered entity it works with; plan-level conditions: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor) Documentation reviewed
SOC 2 / ISO / HITRUSTSOC 2 Type II, ISO/IEC 27001:2022, ISO/IEC 42001, Cyber Essentials Plus (privacy policy). HITRUST: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor) Vendor-reported
Where data is storedRegional hosting; US customer data hosted in the United States (also AU, UK, EU, Canada, Switzerland) Documentation reviewed
Data used for model training?Safety page says identifiers are stripped before processing. Explicit model-training policy for customer data: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor) Vendor-reported
Consent featuresPatient consent resources published; in-app consent capture: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor) Documentation reviewed
SupportPriority support, guided onboarding, and dedicated customer success on higher tiers Vendor-reported
Contract termsMonthly or yearly self-serve; Practice billed yearly; Enterprise offers custom terms and hosting Documentation reviewed

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Real free plan with unlimited transcription
  • Native apps on web, iOS, Android, macOS, and Windows
  • Broad certifications (SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, ISO 42001)
  • Strong multilingual reach
  • Letters, recaps, and agents beyond the note

Cons

  • Clinician plan ($150/mo monthly) costs more than Freed Core
  • Practice plan is billed yearly only
  • EHR integration is an add-on on some plans
  • Model training policy not stated explicitly on public pages
  • Feature set is broad and changes quickly, which can mean more setup

Alternatives

What we could not verify

  • In-person, telehealth, offline: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor)
  • Note styles (SOAP/DAP/BIRP): Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor)
  • HIPAA BAA (and which plan): Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor)
  • SOC 2 / ISO / HITRUST: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor)
  • Data used for model training?: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor)
  • Consent features: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor)
  • Note accuracy and clinical safety: not yet independently tested.

Methodology

Facts come from Heidi's official pricing, security, trust, legal, and help pages, checked 2026-10-12, with news sources used only for company background. Safety and BAA availability are treated as eligibility gates, not scores. No hands-on clinical testing has been done. Read the full methodology and editorial policy.

Bottom line

Heidi is the most flexible self-serve option here, with a real free plan and strong certifications. Confirm BAA coverage for your plan and ask about model training before using it with patients.

Evaluating Heidi in a demo? Use the free vendor evaluation scorecard (printable, PDF) to compare up to 3 vendors.

Sources and last checked

Get the ClinicalAIWeekly brief

One short, sourced email a week: what changed in AI scribe pricing, privacy terms, and features. Free, unsubscribe anytime.