Short answer: For solo and small outpatient psychiatry, Freed and Heidi are the easiest to buy and both document a BAA. Nabla has the most conservative data defaults but no public pricing. In Epic health systems, Abridge and Dragon Copilot are the main enterprise options. Note quality is not yet independently tested.
What matters most in psychiatry
- BAA first: treat a documented BAA as an eligibility gate, not a feature.
- Retention: prefer default audio deletion and short, configurable note retention for sensitive content.
- Model training: get the training policy in writing.
- Templates: med management, mental status exam, risk assessment, and therapy progress notes.
- Psychotherapy notes and Part 2: keep process notes out of the chart, and if you run a federally assisted SUD program, review 42 CFR Part 2 (compliance date February 16, 2026; segregation not required; SUD counseling notes need separate consent).
Solo and small practice options
| Tool | Starting price | Free option | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
FreedMore
| Starter $39/mo (up to 40 notes/mo); Core $79/mo (unlimited notes); Premier $119/mo monthly or $104/mo billed annually; Groups: custom quote Documentation reviewed | No permanent free plan. 7-day free trial, no credit card. Pricing page offers Core free to residents, students, and trainees. Documentation reviewed | Solo psychiatrists, mostly med management; published pricing |
HeidiMore
| Free $0; Clinician $150/mo monthly or $110/mo billed yearly; Practice $180 per seat/mo billed yearly; Max seat upgrade $409/mo monthly or $299/mo yearly (Clinician) and $399/mo (Practice); Enterprise: custom (US prices) Documentation reviewed | Yes. Free plan with unlimited transcription and standard templates; Ask Heidi and advanced templates limited Documentation reviewed | Starting free; broad template library |
NablaMore
| Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor). nabla.com/pricing returned 404 on 2026-10-12. Third-party trackers report a historical $119/mo Pro plan; treat as unverified. Not verified | "Try it for free" signup on the homepage; current free-tier limits: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor) Documentation reviewed | Therapy-heavy practices wanting no audio retention and a 14-day standard data retention |
TaliMore
| US site: Personal free; Starter US$68/mo monthly or US$60/mo annual (40 scribes/mo); Pro US$100/mo monthly (annual price shown inconsistently on the page, ask vendor); Enterprise: custom; part-time accounts $80/mo Documentation reviewed | Yes. Personal plan: 14 days of Pro, then 5 AI scribes and 60 minutes of dictation a month Documentation reviewed | Canadian clinicians (Canadian data residency) |
Health system options
| Tool | Starting price | Free option | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
AbridgeMore
| Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor). Enterprise contracts only; no self-serve plan or published price Not verified | No free plan or self-serve trial; pilots are arranged through sales Documentation reviewed | Epic health systems (enterprise contract) |
Dragon CopilotMore
| Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor) for the Physician Per User license. Physician Flex: per-user dictation license plus pay-as-you-go AI-Assisted Sessions at 25 consumption units ($0.25) each, with 10 sessions per license per month included (Microsoft licensing guidance) Not verified | No free plan; organizational licensing only Documentation reviewed | Health systems on Microsoft and Epic or Oracle EHRs |
Psychiatry fit by tool
Freed
Freed lists psychiatry and mental and behavioral health among its specialty templates, and its blog and Help Center publish behavioral health note guidance. For therapy-heavy practices, check whether the default structure separates the progress note from anything you would treat as HIPAA psychotherapy notes, and confirm you can suppress sensitive details (trauma narratives, substance use, third-party information) before notes leave the tool. The 30-day auto-delete option and default audio deletion help minimize retained sensitive content. Freed does not publicly describe 42 CFR Part 2 specific controls: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor).
Heidi
Heidi publishes progress note resources on its site (psychiatry-specific templates: Not publicly disclosed, ask vendor), and its configurable retention (1 to 90 day auto-delete for organizations) and default audio deletion suit practices that want short retention of sensitive material. Because Heidi increasingly drafts patient-facing recaps and runs agents over chart data, behavioral health practices should decide which outputs are allowed for sensitive visits and keep patient recaps behind clinician approval (which Heidi says is the default). Heidi does not publicly describe 42 CFR Part 2 specific controls: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor).
Nabla
Nabla's no-audio-by-default and 14-day default note retention are among the most conservative in this group, which is attractive for behavioral health. Its 2025 funding release cited adoption growth in behavioral health settings. Short retention means you must export notes promptly, and you should confirm whether psychiatric templates (mental status exam, risk assessment, medication management) are available on your plan. Nabla does not publicly describe 42 CFR Part 2 specific controls: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor).
Tali
Tali's real-time streaming with no stored audio is a privacy plus for behavioral health. However, it does not publish psychiatry-specific templates, a BAA process, or a model-training policy on the pages we checked, so US psychiatric practices should get those in writing before use. 42 CFR Part 2 controls: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor).
Abridge
Abridge lists behavioral health among supported specialties, and its enterprise retention model means the health system, not the clinician, controls how long audio and transcripts exist. That is good for governance but means an individual psychiatrist cannot delete a single sensitive encounter early. Health systems running SUD programs should map Abridge data flows against 42 CFR Part 2 consent and redisclosure rules; Part 2 specific controls are not publicly disclosed (ask vendor).
Dragon Copilot
Dragon Copilot's 90-day retention and its use of de-identified data for model improvement are central questions for behavioral health. Organizations should confirm how sensitive encounters are handled, whether ambient capture can be disabled for specific visit types, and how Part 2 records are segregated. Microsoft's documentation addresses HIPAA but does not publicly describe 42 CFR Part 2 specific controls: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor).
Who should pick which
- Solo psychiatrist, mostly med management: Freed (published pricing, BAA in Terms) or Heidi (free plan to start).
- Therapy-heavy practice wanting short retention: Nabla or Freed with 30-day auto-delete.
- Epic health system behavioral health department: Abridge or Dragon Copilot, after a Part 2 and retention review.
- Canadian psychiatrist: Tali, given Canadian data residency.
Related
- Freed vs Heidi Health
- Heidi Health vs Nabla
- Nabla vs Freed
- Tali AI vs Freed
- Abridge vs DAX Copilot (Dragon Copilot)
- Freed vs Abridge
- Heidi Health vs DAX Copilot (Dragon Copilot)
- Freed review
- Heidi Health review
- Nabla review
- Abridge review
- Dragon Copilot (DAX) review
Sources and last checked
All facts come from the vendor pages linked in each comparison and review, checked 2026-10-12. See the methodology.