Review, documentation-based

Freed review

A sourced, documentation-based review. Note quality is not yet independently tested.

Independent research. No paid rankings.
Last checked 2026-10-12

Best fit: Solo clinicians and small independent practices, including outpatient psychiatry and therapy, who want transparent self-serve pricing and a BAA from sign-up.

Poor fit: Large Epic health systems needing in-chart enterprise workflows, or clinicians who need a permanent free plan.

Overview

Freed was co-founded in January 2023 in San Francisco by Erez Druk and Andrey Bannikov, both former Meta engineers; Druk has said the idea came from watching his physician wife finish notes at night. In March 2025 Freed announced a $30 million Series A led by Sequoia Capital, bringing total funding to about $34 million, and reported more than 17,000 paying clinicians across 96 specialties at the time, with a team of roughly 50 people (CNBC). Freed's own company story page now says 26,000+ clinicians across 1,700+ clinics use the product. Freed sells directly to individual clinicians and small groups with self-serve checkout, and offers a Groups plan for clinics. It has also expanded beyond the scribe into coding, clinical evidence answers, visit prep, and a separate front desk product.

Pricing

Starter $39/mo (up to 40 notes/mo); Core $79/mo (unlimited notes); Premier $119/mo monthly or $104/mo billed annually; Groups: custom quote Documentation reviewed

Free tier or trial: No permanent free plan. 7-day free trial, no credit card. Pricing page offers Core free to residents, students, and trainees.

Source: Freed pricing, checked 2026-10-12.

EHR integration depth

Freed's EHR push on Premier inserts notes into browser-based EHRs with one click; on Starter and Core you copy and paste. Freed does not publicly describe bidirectional (schedule or chart read) integration for specific EHRs on its pricing page.

Listed integrations: EHR push to browser-based EHRs on Premier ("send notes straight into any browser-based EHR with one click"); copy and paste on other plans

Note quality

Not yet independently tested ClinicalAIWeekly has not run hands-on clinical testing of Freed. Any accuracy figures you see in vendor marketing are vendor-reported. Test with your own templates and simulated visits during a trial or pilot before relying on it.

Specialty suitability

Templates: Specialty-specific templates for 20+ specialties, including psychiatry and mental and behavioral health; personal templates; instant template builder (Core and up)

Freed lists psychiatry and mental and behavioral health among its specialty templates, and its blog and Help Center publish behavioral health note guidance. For therapy-heavy practices, check whether the default structure separates the progress note from anything you would treat as HIPAA psychotherapy notes, and confirm you can suppress sensitive details (trauma narratives, substance use, third-party information) before notes leave the tool. The 30-day auto-delete option and default audio deletion help minimize retained sensitive content. Freed does not publicly describe 42 CFR Part 2 specific controls: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor).

Security and privacy

  • BAA: Yes. BAA is Schedule A of the Platform Terms and applies from sign-up on every plan; signed copy on request; organization-wide BAA on Groups Documentation reviewed
  • Certifications: SOC 2 Type 2 (vendor states). ISO 27001 / HITRUST: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor) Vendor-reported
  • Data location: United States (Microsoft Azure) Documentation reviewed
  • Retention: Audio deleted after the note is processed (recoverable up to 48 hours; troubleshooting copies up to 14 days). Notes deletable anytime or auto-deleted after 30 days (backups up to 7 more days). Custom retention on Groups. Documentation reviewed
  • Model training: Vendor says PHI is never used for training and models are trained only on de-identified notes; Terms also allow training on your data with consent given in Platform settings Vendor-reported

Workflow and UX

A typical Freed visit starts in the browser or on a phone: start a recording, see the patient, stop, and a draft note appears in about a minute. You review it against the transcript (available at the bottom of each note), edit, and either copy it into your EHR or, on Premier, push it into a browser-based EHR. Telehealth visits can be captured with the Zoom app. The workflow is deliberately simple and self-serve; there is little IT setup, which is the main reason solo clinicians adopt it quickly.

Freed is designed to be learned in minutes: one record button, a note in about a minute, a transcript under each note, and template learning from your edits. Native app availability beyond the browser is not described on the pricing page.

Full fact table

FeatureFreed
Note quality and accuracyNot yet independently tested by ClinicalAIWeekly Not yet independently tested
Pricing tiers (exact, as published)Starter $39/mo (up to 40 notes/mo); Core $79/mo (unlimited notes); Premier $119/mo monthly or $104/mo billed annually; Groups: custom quote Documentation reviewed
Free tier / trialNo permanent free plan. 7-day free trial, no credit card. Pricing page offers Core free to residents, students, and trainees. Documentation reviewed
EHR integrationsEHR push to browser-based EHRs on Premier ("send notes straight into any browser-based EHR with one click"); copy and paste on other plans Vendor-reported
Specialties and templatesSpecialty-specific templates for 20+ specialties, including psychiatry and mental and behavioral health; personal templates; instant template builder (Core and up) Vendor-reported
LanguagesCaptures visits in multiple languages and writes the note in English (Spanish, Mandarin, Italian, German, Russian, Japanese, French, Korean, Thai, Portuguese, Dutch, Swedish, Polish, Indonesian listed) Vendor-reported
PlatformsWeb on any desktop, tablet, or smartphone browser; Zoom app for telehealth. Native app details: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor) Documentation reviewed
In-person, telehealth, offlineIn-person and telehealth both supported (Zoom app available). Offline recording: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor) Vendor-reported
Note styles (SOAP/DAP/BIRP)SOAP shown by default; specialty headers and custom formats. Named DAP/BIRP templates: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor) Vendor-reported
Editing and customizationEdit notes, "learn my format" from an edited note, dictation and saved phrases (Premier), custom templates Vendor-reported
Coding and billing helpCoding Assistant with ICD-10, E/M, and CPT suggestions on Premier Vendor-reported
Patient instructions and lettersPatient instructions, referral letters, and exception notes on Premier Vendor-reported
Data retention and deletionAudio deleted after the note is processed (recoverable up to 48 hours; troubleshooting copies up to 14 days). Notes deletable anytime or auto-deleted after 30 days (backups up to 7 more days). Custom retention on Groups. Documentation reviewed
HIPAA BAA (and which plan)Yes. BAA is Schedule A of the Platform Terms and applies from sign-up on every plan; signed copy on request; organization-wide BAA on Groups Documentation reviewed
SOC 2 / ISO / HITRUSTSOC 2 Type 2 (vendor states). ISO 27001 / HITRUST: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor) Vendor-reported
Where data is storedUnited States (Microsoft Azure) Documentation reviewed
Data used for model training?Vendor says PHI is never used for training and models are trained only on de-identified notes; Terms also allow training on your data with consent given in Platform settings Vendor-reported
Consent featuresSample patient consent script published in FAQ and Help Center; in-app consent capture: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor) Documentation reviewed
SupportLive support from a Clinician Success team; dedicated account manager on Groups Vendor-reported
Contract termsMonthly or annual self-serve; Groups by contract. Minimum term: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor) Documentation reviewed

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Lowest published entry price in this group ($39/mo Starter)
  • Transparent public pricing and self-serve signup
  • BAA included in Terms on every plan, including the trial
  • Psychiatry and behavioral health templates listed
  • Default audio deletion plus optional 30-day note auto-delete

Cons

  • No permanent free plan (7-day trial only)
  • EHR push, coding, and letters require Premier ($104 to $119/mo)
  • Starter caps at 40 notes a month
  • Note-level integrations are browser-based; deep Epic workflows are not its focus
  • ISO 27001 or HITRUST not publicly listed

Alternatives

What we could not verify

  • Platforms: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor)
  • In-person, telehealth, offline: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor)
  • Note styles (SOAP/DAP/BIRP): Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor)
  • SOC 2 / ISO / HITRUST: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor)
  • Consent features: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor)
  • Contract terms: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor)
  • Note accuracy and clinical safety: not yet independently tested.

Methodology

Facts come from Freed's official pricing, security, trust, legal, and help pages, checked 2026-10-12, with news sources used only for company background. Safety and BAA availability are treated as eligibility gates, not scores. No hands-on clinical testing has been done. Read the full methodology and editorial policy.

Bottom line

Freed is the most straightforward way for an independent clinician to start with an AI scribe at a published price, with the BAA built in. Upgrade to Premier only if you need EHR push, coding, or letters.

Evaluating Freed in a demo? Use the free vendor evaluation scorecard (printable, PDF) to compare up to 3 vendors.

Sources and last checked

Get the ClinicalAIWeekly brief

One short, sourced email a week: what changed in AI scribe pricing, privacy terms, and features. Free, unsubscribe anytime.