Head-to-head comparison

Nabla vs Freed

Nabla and Freed reflect two different go-to-market models. Freed is self-serve with public prices aimed at individual clinicians. Nabla is increasingly organization-led with EHR-embedded deployments, but has the more conservative default data retention.

Sourced from vendor docs
No paid placement or affiliate links
Last checked 2026-10-12
Verdict in brief: Pick Freed for transparent self-serve pricing and a BAA from sign-up. Pick Nabla for conservative retention, a no-training statement, and Epic or athenahealth integration through an organizational deal.

Key differences

  • Buying: Freed publishes $39 to $119/mo plans; Nabla's pricing is not publicly disclosed (ask vendor).
  • Retention: Nabla keeps notes 14 days by default; Freed keeps notes until you delete them or enable 30-day auto-delete.
  • Training: Nabla says it does not train on your data; Freed says it trains only on de-identified notes, with consent-based training in its Terms.
  • Cloud: Nabla on Google Cloud US regions; Freed on Microsoft Azure in the US.
  • EHRs: Nabla integrates with Epic and athenahealth; Freed pushes to browser-based EHRs on Premier.

Company background

Nabla

Nabla was founded in Paris in 2018 by Alexandre Lebrun (CEO), Delphine Groll (COO), and Martin Raison (CTO); Lebrun previously sold AI companies to Nuance and Facebook. Nabla raised a $70 million Series C in June 2025 led by HV Capital, bringing total funding to $120 million, and has a US office in Brooklyn, New York. Its site says it is deployed in 130+ health organizations, used by 85,000+ clinicians, and supports 20M+ patient encounters per year. Nabla has shifted toward organization deals and EHR-embedded deployments (Epic, athenahealth, and Nabla Connect for other EHRs), while still offering a free trial for individuals.

Freed

Freed was co-founded in January 2023 in San Francisco by Erez Druk and Andrey Bannikov, both former Meta engineers; Druk has said the idea came from watching his physician wife finish notes at night. In March 2025 Freed announced a $30 million Series A led by Sequoia Capital, bringing total funding to about $34 million, and reported more than 17,000 paying clinicians across 96 specialties at the time, with a team of roughly 50 people (CNBC). Freed's own company story page now says 26,000+ clinicians across 1,700+ clinics use the product. Freed sells directly to individual clinicians and small groups with self-serve checkout, and offers a Groups plan for clinics. It has also expanded beyond the scribe into coding, clinical evidence answers, visit prep, and a separate front desk product.

Side-by-side comparison

Prices in USD unless noted. "Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor)" means the vendor does not publish it. Each cell carries an evidence label; see how we label evidence. No hands-on clinical testing has been done yet.

Nabla vs Freed, checked 2026-10-12
FeatureNablaFreed
Note quality and accuracyNot yet independently tested by ClinicalAIWeekly Not yet independently testedNot yet independently tested by ClinicalAIWeekly Not yet independently tested
Pricing tiers (exact, as published)Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor). nabla.com/pricing returned 404 on 2026-10-12. Third-party trackers report a historical $119/mo Pro plan; treat as unverified. Not verifiedStarter $39/mo (up to 40 notes/mo); Core $79/mo (unlimited notes); Premier $119/mo monthly or $104/mo billed annually; Groups: custom quote Documentation reviewed
Free tier / trial"Try it for free" signup on the homepage; current free-tier limits: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor) Documentation reviewedNo permanent free plan. 7-day free trial, no credit card. Pricing page offers Core free to residents, students, and trainees. Documentation reviewed
EHR integrationsEpic and athenahealth integrations; Nabla Connect for other EHRs; export to EHR Vendor-reportedEHR push to browser-based EHRs on Premier ("send notes straight into any browser-based EHR with one click"); copy and paste on other plans Vendor-reported
Specialties and templatesHelp Center and third-party listings cite 55+ specialties and custom templates; current list: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor) Third-party sourcedSpecialty-specific templates for 20+ specialties, including psychiatry and mental and behavioral health; personal templates; instant template builder (Core and up) Vendor-reported
Languages35+ languages including bilingual encounters (vendor materials as reported); confirm current list Vendor-reportedCaptures visits in multiple languages and writes the note in English (Spanish, Mandarin, Italian, German, Russian, Japanese, French, Korean, Thai, Portuguese, Dutch, Swedish, Polish, Indonesian listed) Vendor-reported
PlatformsiOS and Android apps, web, and a Chrome/Edge extension; Echo desktop app for remote encounters on Zoom, Teams, or other apps Documentation reviewedWeb on any desktop, tablet, or smartphone browser; Zoom app for telehealth. Native app details: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor) Documentation reviewed
In-person, telehealth, offlineIn-person and telehealth (Echo). Offline recording: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor) Vendor-reportedIn-person and telehealth both supported (Zoom app available). Offline recording: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor) Vendor-reported
Note styles (SOAP/DAP/BIRP)SOAP and custom note formats; named DAP/BIRP availability: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor) Vendor-reportedSOAP shown by default; specialty headers and custom formats. Named DAP/BIRP templates: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor) Vendor-reported
Editing and customizationCustomizable templates, Magic Edit, dot phrases, and custom dictionaries (Core API features) Vendor-reportedEdit notes, "learn my format" from an edited note, dictation and saved phrases (Premier), custom templates Vendor-reported
Coding and billing helpE/M and ICD-10 suggestions grounded in documentation and AMA guidance (Coding product) Vendor-reportedCoding Assistant with ICD-10, E/M, and CPT suggestions on Premier Vendor-reported
Patient instructions and lettersPatient-friendly instructions listed as a Core API feature; letters in app: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor) Vendor-reportedPatient instructions, referral letters, and exception notes on Premier Vendor-reported
Data retention and deletionNo audio stored by default. Notes retained for a configurable period, 14 days by default. Documentation reviewedAudio deleted after the note is processed (recoverable up to 48 hours; troubleshooting copies up to 14 days). Notes deletable anytime or auto-deleted after 30 days (backups up to 7 more days). Custom retention on Groups. Documentation reviewed
HIPAA BAA (and which plan)HIPAA documentation available on request in the Trust Center; BAA plan availability: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor) Documentation reviewedYes. BAA is Schedule A of the Platform Terms and applies from sign-up on every plan; signed copy on request; organization-wide BAA on Groups Documentation reviewed
SOC 2 / ISO / HITRUSTSOC 2 Type 2 and ISO 27001 (Trust Center). HITRUST: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor) Vendor-reportedSOC 2 Type 2 (vendor states). ISO 27001 / HITRUST: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor) Vendor-reported
Where data is storedUS clients on Google Cloud US regions; others in EU Google Cloud Documentation reviewedUnited States (Microsoft Azure) Documentation reviewed
Data used for model training?Vendor states it does not train its models on your data Vendor-reportedVendor says PHI is never used for training and models are trained only on de-identified notes; Terms also allow training on your data with consent given in Platform settings Vendor-reported
Consent featuresNot publicly disclosed (ask vendor) Not verifiedSample patient consent script published in FAQ and Help Center; in-app consent capture: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor) Documentation reviewed
Supportsupport@nabla.com; enterprise support details: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor) Vendor-reportedLive support from a Clinician Success team; dedicated account manager on Groups Vendor-reported
Contract termsNot publicly disclosed (ask vendor) Not verifiedMonthly or annual self-serve; Groups by contract. Minimum term: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor) Documentation reviewed

Workflow walkthrough

Nabla

Nabla's flow is built around speed (Nabla says it does not retain audio and stores patient data for a minimal amount of time based on the user's retention settings, 14 days standard): start the assistant on a phone, in the browser extension, or in Echo for video visits, have the conversation, and a structured note is ready within seconds. Edits and exports happen in the app, or the note lands inside Epic or athenahealth when the organization has an integration. Because notes are kept only 14 days by default, clinicians are expected to finalize and export promptly.

Freed

A typical Freed visit starts in the browser or on a phone: start a recording, see the patient, stop, and a draft note appears in about a minute. You review it against the transcript (available at the bottom of each note), edit, and either copy it into your EHR or, on Premier, push it into a browser-based EHR. Telehealth visits can be captured with the Zoom app. The workflow is deliberately simple and self-serve; there is little IT setup, which is the main reason solo clinicians adopt it quickly.

Psychiatry and behavioral health fit

Two federal rules matter for behavioral health. HIPAA treats psychotherapy notes (kept separate from the medical record) as a special category, so check that a scribe's default note does not blend process notes into the chart. Federally assisted substance use disorder programs are also covered by 42 CFR Part 2; the 2024 final rule aligned Part 2 more closely with HIPAA, with a compliance date of February 16, 2026 (HHS). None of the vendors here publicly describe Part 2 specific controls, The rule states that segregating Part 2 records is not required, and it creates a new category of SUD counseling notes that need separate patient consent, much like HIPAA psychotherapy notes. Part 2 programs should get written answers on how each tool handles consent, counseling-note content, and redisclosure before use.

Nabla

Nabla's no-audio-by-default and 14-day default note retention are among the most conservative in this group, which is attractive for behavioral health. Its 2025 funding release cited adoption growth in behavioral health settings. Short retention means you must export notes promptly, and you should confirm whether psychiatric templates (mental status exam, risk assessment, medication management) are available on your plan. Nabla does not publicly describe 42 CFR Part 2 specific controls: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor).

Freed

Freed lists psychiatry and mental and behavioral health among its specialty templates, and its blog and Help Center publish behavioral health note guidance. For therapy-heavy practices, check whether the default structure separates the progress note from anything you would treat as HIPAA psychotherapy notes, and confirm you can suppress sensitive details (trauma narratives, substance use, third-party information) before notes leave the tool. The 30-day auto-delete option and default audio deletion help minimize retained sensitive content. Freed does not publicly describe 42 CFR Part 2 specific controls: Not publicly disclosed (ask vendor).

Strengths and weaknesses

Nabla

Strengths

  • No audio stored by default and 14-day default note retention
  • Explicit statement that it does not train on customer data
  • SOC 2 Type 2 and ISO 27001
  • Native mobile apps, browser extension, and desktop capture
  • Epic and athenahealth integrations

Weaknesses

  • No public pricing page as of 2026-10-12
  • Sales-led for paid use, which slows solo purchasing
  • BAA terms for individual users not public
  • Short default retention requires disciplined export
  • Psych-specific template list not published

Freed

Strengths

  • Lowest published entry price in this group ($39/mo Starter)
  • Transparent public pricing and self-serve signup
  • BAA included in Terms on every plan, including the trial
  • Psychiatry and behavioral health templates listed
  • Default audio deletion plus optional 30-day note auto-delete

Weaknesses

  • No permanent free plan (7-day trial only)
  • EHR push, coding, and letters require Premier ($104 to $119/mo)
  • Starter caps at 40 notes a month
  • Note-level integrations are browser-based; deep Epic workflows are not its focus
  • ISO 27001 or HITRUST not publicly listed

Who should pick which

Practice typeBetter fit
Solo psychiatrist buying with a credit card todayFreed
Group on Epic or athenahealthNabla
Practice that wants a no-training commitmentNabla
Clinician who wants coding plus patient lettersFreed Premier
Very low budgetFreed Starter ($39/mo) or a Nabla free trial

Verdict

Pick Freed for transparent self-serve pricing and a BAA from sign-up. Pick Nabla for conservative retention, a no-training statement, and Epic or athenahealth integration through an organizational deal.

Whichever you choose, sign the BAA before any real patient audio is recorded, set retention to the shortest period that fits your workflow, and test with your own templates during the trial or pilot.

Related reading: Nabla review, Freed review and the psychiatry AI scribe guide.

FAQ

How much is Nabla now?

Nabla does not publish pricing as of 2026-10-12. A historical $119/mo Pro price appears on third-party sites only.

Which stores less?

Nabla stores no audio and keeps notes 14 days by default. Freed deletes audio after processing and lets you auto-delete notes after 30 days.

Which works better for telehealth?

Both support telehealth: Freed through a Zoom app, Nabla through its Echo desktop app and browser extension.

Is this medical or legal advice?

No. This is general information. Confirm BAA terms, data use, and consent requirements with each vendor and your compliance advisor before using patient data.

How were facts checked?

Each fact comes from the vendor's official pricing, security, trust, or help pages, checked on 2026-10-12. Where a vendor does not publish something, we say so rather than estimate it.

Sources and last checked

All links checked 2026-10-12 (2026-10). Vendors change prices and terms often; re-verify before buying.

Get the ClinicalAIWeekly brief

One short, sourced email a week: what changed in AI scribe pricing, privacy terms, and features. Free, unsubscribe anytime.